Federal Administration admin.ch
Federal Department of Foreign Affairs

Navigation

Main navigation

Sub navigation

Further information

Quick search

Priorities of the presidency
Download

You are here:

Didier Burkhalter

Head of the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs

Federal Councillor Didier Burkhalter (© Federal Chancellery)

 (165 x 190)

Didier Burkhalter, born on 17 April 1960, grew up in the village of Auvernier on the shores of Lake Neuchâtel. He obtained a degree in economics from the University of Neuchâtel. Before his move into politics, he held a number of posts in the academic world and the private sector. Mr. Burkhalter is married and father of three children.

In 1985 Mr. Burkhalter joined the Radical Democratic Party (now the Liberal Democratic Party, or FDP). He was secretary of the Neuchâtel branch of the party, before becoming the full-time secretary for French-speaking Switzerland within the FDP Switzerland. In 1991 he was elected to the executive (town council) of Neuchâtel, which he chaired for three legislative periods (1994/1995, 1998/1999, 2001/2002). He remained a member of the council until 2005.

During his political career, Mr. Burkhalter has served as a member of parliament at all three levels of the Swiss political system: communal (parliament of Hauterive, Neuchâtel), cantonal (Neuchâtel parliament) and federal (National Council and Council of States).

In 2003 Mr. Burkhalter was elected to the National Council, and to the Council of States in 2007. During this time he has served on a number of parliamentary committees and was also a member of the Swiss delegation to the Parliamentary Assembly of the Organisation for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE).

Didier Burkhalter was elected to the Federal Council on 16 September 2009 and appointed as the head of the Federal Department of Home Affairs (FDHA), a post he held until 31 December 2011. Mr. Burkhalter has been head of the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs since 1 January 2012.

On 4 December 2013, the Federal Assembly elected Didier Burkhalter as President of the Swiss Confederation for 2014.

Bundesverwaltung admin.ch
Eidgenössisches Departement für auswärtige Angelegenheiten

Navigation

Hauptnavigation

Subnavigation

Weitere Informationen

Schnellsuche

Schwerpunkte der Bundespräsidentschaft
Download
Fotos

Sie befinden sich hier:

Didier Burkhalter

Vorsteher des Eidgenössischen Departements für auswärtige Angelegenheiten

Bundesrat Didier Burkhalter (© Bundeskanzlei)

 (165 x 190)

Didier Burkhalter wurde am 17.4.1960 geboren und wuchs in Auvernier am Neuenburgersee auf. An der Universität Neuenburg studierte er Wirtschaftswissenschaften, die er mit dem Lizenziat abschloss. Danach war er in verschiedenen Funktionen an der Universität und in der Privatwirtschaft tätig. Er ist verheiratet und hat drei Kinder.

Seit 1985 ist er Mitglied der Freisinnig-Demokratischen Partei FDP, heute FDP.Die Liberalen. Er war Sekretär der kantonalen Neuenburger FDP und vollamtlicher Parteisekretär Romandie im Generalsekretariat der FDP Schweiz. 1991 wurde er in die Neuenburger Stadtregierung gewählt, der er bis 2005 angehörte und die er dreimal präsidierte (1994/1995, 1998/1999, 2001/2002).

Im Laufe seiner politischen Karriere war Didier Burkhalter Parlamentsmitglied auf Gemeindeebene (Hauterive NE), auf Kantonsebene (Grossen Rat NE) und auf Bundesebene.

2003 wurde er in den Nationalrat gewählt und 2007 schaffte er den Wechsel in den Ständerat. Während seiner Zeit als Bundesparlamentarier war er Mitglied verschiedener Kommissionen und gehörte der Schweizer Delegation bei der Parlamentarischen Versammlung der Organisation für Sicherheit und Zusammenarbeit in Europa (OSZE) an.

Am 16. September 2009 wählte die Vereinigte Bundesversammlung Didier Burkhalter in den Bundesrat. 2010 und 2011 leitete er das Eidgenössische Departement des Innern EDI. Seit dem 1. Januar 2012 steht er dem Eidgenössischen Departement für auswärtige Angelegenheiten vor.

Am 4. Dezember 2013 wählte die Vereinigte Bundesversammlung Bundesrat Didier Burkhalter zum Bundespräsidenten für 2014.