Federal Department of Foreign Affairs

Navigation

Main navigation

Sub navigation

Further information

Quick search

You are here:

The FDFA recalls the Swiss Ambassador in Syria to Bern for consultations

18.08.2011

Switzerland condemns the recent acts of violence committed by the Syrian security forces against the civilian population. It has repeatedly and publicly called on the authorities to respect fundamental freedoms. The actions of the Syrian security forces are not acceptable. For this reason, the FDFA has recalled the Swiss Ambassador in Damascus to Bern for consultations.

The Federal Department of Foreign Affairs (FDFA) has been following with great concern the events of recent weeks and months in Syria. It deplores in particular the large number of dead and injured, and extends its deep condolences to the families of the victims.  

The FDFA calls on the Syrian authorities to immediately cease the repression and to respect the fundamental rights of the civil population, in particular the right to life, the ban on torture, the freedom of expression and freedom of assembly. It especially condemns the use of force against demonstrators, arbitrary arrests and the use of torture.  

The FDFA demands that independent investigations be conducted immediately to determine the exact circumstances of this violence and identify those responsible for it. 

Due to the fact that the numerous calls from the international community to end the violence have been ignored, the FDFA has decided to recall the Swiss Ambassador in Syria to Bern for consultations. This decision was made because Switzerland cannot tolerate the systematic human rights violations perpetrated by the Syrian security forces against the civilian population. In view of its humanitarian tradition, Switzerland wishes to send a strong signal to Damascus. The recall of the Swiss Ambassador in Damascus is not, however, equivalent to a rupture of diplomatic relations. The Swiss Embassy in Damascus remains open and fully operational.

On 18 May 2011, the Federal Council adopted an ordinance with measures against Syria that correspond with the sanctions adopted by the EU.  The Federal Council has extended these measures on 24 May 2011 and again on 17 August 2011. They include, in particular, the freezing of assets of individuals in the Syrian regime and persons associated with it, travel restrictions and a ban on the export of military goods.   

The Federal Council is closely following developments in Syria. The Swiss Embassy in Damascus is in close contact with the embassies of other countries and with Swiss citizens in Syria.  

The FDFA calls on the Syrian authorities to provide access to the foreign media so that they can report on the events. 



Federal Department of Foreign Affairs
Internet: http://www.eda.admin.ch/eda/en/home/recent/media.html


back to list

Eidgenössisches Departement für auswärtige Angelegenheiten

Navigation

Hauptnavigation

Subnavigation

Weitere Informationen

Schnellsuche

Sie befinden sich hier:

EDA ruft Schweizer Botschafter in Syrien zu Konsultationen nach Bern zurück

18.08.2011

Die Schweiz verurteilt die jüngsten Gewaltakte der syrischen Sicherheitskräfte gegenüber der Zivilbevölkerung. Sie hat wiederholt und öffentlich zur Respektierung der Grundfreiheiten aufgerufen. Das Vorgehen der syrischen Sicherheitskräfte ist nicht akzeptabel. Das EDA hat darum den Schweizer Botschafter in Damaskus zu Konsultationen nach Bern zurückgerufen.

Das Eidgenössische Departement für auswärtige Angelegenheiten (EDA) hat die Ereignisse der letzten Wochen und Monate in Syrien mit grosser Besorgnis verfolgt. Es bedauert insbesondere die zahlreichen  Toten und Verletzten und spricht den Angehörigen der Opfer sein tiefes Mitgefühl aus.

Das EDA fordert die syrischen Behörden auf, die Repression unverzüglich einzustellen und die Grundrechte der  Bevölkerung in Syrien zu achten, namentlich das Recht auf Leben, das Folterverbot, die Meinungsfreiheit und die Versammlungsfreiheit. Es verurteilt insbesondere den Einsatz von Gewalt gegen die Demonstrierenden, die willkürlichen Verhaftungen und die Anwendung von Folter.  

Das EDA verlangt, dass rasch unabhängige Untersuchungen durchgeführt werden, um die genauen Umstände und die Verantwortlichen dieser Gewalttaten zu ermitteln.  

Nachdem zahlreiche Aufrufe der internationalen Gemeinschaft zur Beendung der Gewalt ignoriert wurden, entschied das EDA, den Botschafter der Schweiz in Syrien für Konsultationen nach Bern zurückzurufen. Dieser Entscheid war nötig, weil die Schweiz die systematischen Menschenrechtsverletzungen gegenüber der Zivilbevölkerung durch die syrischen Sicherheitskräfte nicht tolerieren kann. Aufgrund ihrer humanitären Tradition will die Schweiz mit diesem Schritt ein starkes Signal an die syrische Führung senden. Der Rückruf des Botschafters der Schweiz in Damaskus bedeutet jedoch nicht eine Einstellung der diplomatischen Beziehungen. Die Schweizer Botschaft in Damaskus ist offen und führt ihren Geschäftsbetrieb fort. 

Am 18. Mai 2011 hat der Bundesrat in Übereinstimmung mit den von der EU erlassenen Sanktionen eine Verordnung mit Massnahmen gegenüber Syrien verabschiedet und am 24. Mai 2011 sowie am 17. August 2011 erweitert. Diese Massnahmen beinhalten namentlich die Blockierung von Geldern von Personen des syrischen Regimes und dessen Umfeld, Reisebeschränkungen und ein Exportverbot für militärische Güter.   

Der Bundesrat beobachtet die Entwicklung in Syrien genau. Die Schweizer Botschaft vor Ort steht in engem Kontakt mit den Vertretungen anderer  Staaten und mit den Schweizer Bürgern in Syrien.

Das EDA appelliert an die syrischen Behörden, den ausländischen Medienschaffenden Zugang zu gewähren, damit sie über die Ereignisse berichten können.    



Eidgenössisches Departement für auswärtige Angelegenheiten
Internet: http://www.eda.admin.ch/eda/de/home/recent/media.html


Zurück zur Uebersicht