Federal Department of Foreign Affairs

Navigation

Main navigation

Sub navigation

Further information

Quick search

You are here:

Sustainability and green economy: progress at the Rio+20 negotiations halting

27.03.2012

From the perspective of Switzerland a satisfactory outcome of the United Nations Rio+20 Conference on Sustainability remains out of reach. The countries participating in the first round of negotiations, held between 19 and 27 March 2012 in New York, were very far apart in their positions. The actual conference will take place from 13 to 22 June 2012 in Rio de Janeiro.

The first round of negotiations on the outcome of the UN sustainability conference ended on 27 March 2012 in New York. The negotiating delegations discussed the zero draft of the outcome document compiled by the UN and introduced their own ideas and proposals for the resolution to be passed on 22 June 2012 in Rio de Janeiro. The countries remain very divided in their views. The volume of the suggested changes and additions resulted in an increase in the size of the draft declaration from around 20 pages to 200.

The topics for debate included the green economy and poverty eradication, the reform of the UN institutions responsible for the environment and sustainability, the definition of global sustainability objectives, and the adoption of a package of actions for the promotion of sustainable development. Switzerland is playing an active and ambitious role in the negotiations and pressing hard for solutions.

International roadmap for a green economy

The Swiss proposal for a comprehensive international roadmap for a green economy (Green Economy Roadmap) is supported by the EU in particular. In contrast, several developing countries are sceptical about the idea of the green economy and are not yet ready to work on concrete, focused draft proposals for the outcome of the Rio summit.

Consensus exists as to the fact that efficient institutions are needed to support and steer the implementation and further development of the sustainability agenda within the UN. However, agreement has not been reached on whether this should be attained through the establishment of a global sustainability council, as proposed by Switzerland, or through other measures, such as boosting the UN's Economic and Social Council. There was support for the concrete measures for strengthening the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) proposed by Switzerland. The question as to whether a separate UN environmental organisation should be established remains open, however.

Global sustainable development goals

Switzerland supports the definition of global sustainable development goals that would replace the millennium development goals. Global sustainability goals would reinforce the commitment in the area of sustainable development, support its implementation and enable the monitoring of the progress attained. This idea enjoys significant support in principle, and a basic decision in favour of the adoption of global sustainable development goals could become one of the most important results of the Rio conference. Nonetheless, the negotiations on this point have proven complex and have been slow to progress as a result.

According to the leader of the Swiss negotiating delegation, Ambassador Franz Perrez, Head of the International Affairs Division of the Federal Office for the Environment (FOEN), progress at the negotiations is halting: the conference leadership and Brazil, which will host the summit in Rio, have failed to provide ambitious guidance and direction. Most of the Member States also displayed little ambition and vision for the negotiations.

However, success could still be attained. Although it is becoming increasingly clear that the differences in some areas are intractable, common causes are emerging in many areas. «For the Rio conference to be successful we need more countries like Switzerland which is highly motivated in seeking long-term solutions,» says Franz Perrez.

Switzerland will participate in an informal meeting of a small group of countries to be held in Rio de Janeiro in mid-April. Together with Brazil, the group will continue the quest for a solution for the negotiations. The next informal round of negotiations will begin at the end of April. The final round of negotiations will take place from 13 to 15 June in advance of the actual summit.



Federal Office for the Environment FOEN
Internet: http://www.bafu.admin.ch/en

Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation
Internet: http://www.deza.admin.ch/index.php?langID=1

Swiss Federal Office for Agriculture
Internet: http://www.blw.admin.ch

State Secretariat for Economic Affairs
Internet: http://www.seco.admin.ch

Link
Swiss Platform for Rio+20

Link
FOEN: Topic International affairs


back to list

Bundesverwaltung admin.ch
Eidgenössisches Departement für auswärtige Angelegenheiten

Navigation

Hauptnavigation

Subnavigation

Weitere Informationen

Schnellsuche

Sie befinden sich hier:

Nachhaltigkeit und Grüne Wirtschaft: Rio+20-Verhandlungen gehen schleppend voran

27.03.2012

Ein für die Schweiz befriedigendes Resultat des UNO-Nachhaltigkeitskonferenz Rio+20 ist noch nicht in Griffweite. An der ersten Verhandlungsrunde vom 19. bis 27. März 2012 in New York lagen die Positionen der Länder weit auseinander. Die Konferenz findet vom 13. bis 22. Juni 2012 in Rio de Janeiro statt.

Die erste Verhandlungsrunde zu den Ergebnissen der UNO-Nachhaltigkeitskonferenz von Rio ging am 27. März 2012 in New York zu Ende. Die Verhandlungsdelegationen diskutierten den von der UNO vorbereiteten Null-Entwurf (Zero Draft) und brachten ihre eigenen Ideen und Vorschläge ein für das Beschlussdokument, das am 22. Juni 2012 in Rio de Janeiro verabschiedet werden soll. Die Vorstellungen der Länder liegen zurzeit noch sehr weit auseinander. Alleine der Umfang der eingebrachten Änderungs- und Ergänzungsanträge liess den Entwurf der Deklaration von knapp zwanzig auf rund zweihundert Seiten anwachsen.

Zur Diskussion stehen die Schwerpunkte grüne Wirtschaft und Armutsbekämpfung, die Reform der für Umwelt und Nachhaltigkeit zuständigen UNO-Institutionen, die Schaffung von globalen Nachhaltigkeitszielen sowie die Verabschiedung eines Aktionspakets zur Förderung der Nachhaltigen Entwicklung. Die Schweiz nimmt in den Verhandlungen eine aktive, ambitionierte und zugleich lösungsorientierte Position ein.

Internationaler Fahrplan für eine grüne Wirtschaft

Der Schweizer Vorschlag für einen umfassenden internationalen Fahrplan für eine grüne Wirtschaft (Green Economy Roadmap) wird insbesondere auch von der EU unterstützt. Mehrere Entwicklungsländer zeigen sich gegenüber dem Konzept der grünen Wirtschaft hingegen skeptisch und sind daher noch nicht bereit, an fokussierten konkreten Textvorschlägen für das Resultat von Rio zu arbeiten.

Einigkeit besteht darin, dass es eine effiziente Institution braucht, um innerhalb der UNO die Umsetzung und Weiterentwicklung der Nachhaltigkeitsagenda zu unterstützen und zu steuern. Ob dies durch die von der Schweiz vorgeschlagene Schaffung eines globalen Nachhaltigkeitsrates geschehen soll oder durch andere Massnahmen wie die Stärkung des Wirtschafts- und Sozialrates der UNO (ECOSOC) ist umstritten. Die von der Schweiz vorgestellten konkreten Massnahmen zur Stärkung des UNO-Umweltprogramms UNEP wurden unterstützt. Offen ist noch, ob eine eigene UNO-Umweltorganisation geschaffen werden soll.

Globale Nachhaltigkeitsziele

Die Schweiz setzt sich für die Erarbeitung globaler Nachhaltigkeitsziele ein, welche die Millenniums-Entwicklungsziele ablösen sollen. Globale Nachhaltigkeitsziele würden das Engagement im Bereich Nachhaltige Entwicklung verstärken, die Umsetzung unterstützen und es ermöglichen, Fortschritte zu überprüfen. Prinzipiell findet diese Idee grosse Unterstützung und ein Grundsatzentscheid für Globale Nachhaltigkeitsziele könnte eines der wichtigsten Ergebnisse der Konferenz von Rio werden. Die Verhandlungen in diesem Punkt erweisen sich jedoch als komplex und sind dementsprechend noch nicht weit gediehen.

Für den Leiter der Schweizer Verhandlungsdelegation, Botschafter Franz Perrez, Chef der Abteilung Internationales im Bundesamt für Umwelt BAFU, gehen die Verhandlungen schleppend voran: es fehle an einer ambitionierten Führung durch die Konferenzleitung und seitens Brasilien, dem Gastgeberland der Rio-Konferenz. Auch die meisten anderen Staaten zeigten noch wenig Ambitionen und Visionen.

Ein Erfolg sei aber immer noch möglich: In vielen Bereichen zeichnen sich gemeinsame Anliegen ab, in anderen werden die Differenzen deutlicher und zugleich auch überbrückbarer. «Damit die Konferenz von Rio ein Erfolg wird, braucht es noch mehr Länder wie die Schweiz, die ambitioniert nach langfristigen Lösungen sucht», sagt Franz Perrez.

Mitte April wird die Schweiz in Rio de Janeiro an einem informellen Treffen einer kleineren Gruppe von Länder teilnehmen, die mit Brasilien eine Lösung für die Verhandlungen sucht. Ende April beginnt die nächste informelle Verhandlungsrunde. Die letzte Verhandlungsrunde wird vom 13. bis 15. Juni im Vorfeld des eigentlichen Nachhaltigkeitsgipfels stattfinden.



Bundesamt für Umwelt BAFU
Internet: http://www.bafu.admin.ch

Direktion für Entwicklung und Zusammenarbeit
Internet: http://www.deza.admin.ch/index.php?langID=6

Bundesamt für Landwirtschaft
Internet: http://www.blw.admin.ch

Staatssekretariat für Wirtschaft
Internet: http://www.seco.admin.ch

Link
Schweizer Plattform für Rio+20

Link
BAFU: Thema Internationales


Zurück zur Uebersicht