Federal Department of Foreign Affairs


Main navigation

Sub navigation

Further information

Quick search

You are here:

Swiss Domestic Politics

Switzerland is a multi-cultural, multilingual and multi-confessional nation shaped by the will of its people. It has been a federal State since 1848. Switzerland has a federal structure with three different political levels: the Confederation, the cantons and the communes.

Switzerland is a federal republic with a system of direct democracy in which the people are sovereign. All Swiss citizens over the age of 18 have the right to vote. They get to exercise this right regularly, as they are called on three to four times a year to take part in popular votes on a variety of political issues.

The party system of the past decades underwent a change in the 2011 National Council Elections.

Contact Political and Legal Affairs

E-mail  was.vertretung@eda.admin.ch
Tel: (202) 745-7917