Federal Department of Foreign Affairs


Main navigation

Sub navigation

Further information

Quick search

You are here:

Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD)

What is the OECD?

Château de la Muette

Château de la Muette, headquarter to the OECD, © OECD
  • Established in 1961
  • Headquartered in Paris
  • 34 member countries
  • Annual budget of EUR 354 million
  • Secretariat staff 2,500
  • 250 publications per year

http://www.oecd.org/ Official OECD website
http://www.oecd.org/about/membersandpartners/ OECD member countries

OECD Member States, © OECD
  • 55% of the world's Gross Domestic Product (GDP)
  • 61% of world trade
  • 18% of the world population
  • 95% of global public development assistance
  • 41% of global CO2 emissions
What does the OECD do?

The mission of the OECD is to help its member countries to:

  • Support sustainable economic growth
  • Boost employment
  • Raise living standards
  • Maintain financial stability
  • Assist other countries' economic development
  • Contribute to growth in world trade

http://www.oecd.org/ OECD activity fields

How does the OECD work?

The governments of member countries meet regularly in committees to :

  • Compare experiences ("peer reviews")
  • Seek solutions to common problems
  • Identify good practices
  • Develop international standards
  • Coordinate their national and international policies

The OECD and its secretariat collect data, analyse and forecast economic and social trends and developments.

What benefits does the OECD offer Switzerland?
  • International platform for advocating Switzerland's interests
  • Opportunity to be involved in defining international standards
  • Peer learning
  • Arguments for structural reforms which are necessary but politically difficult
  • Areas of particular interest: investment, competition, tax, development, health and innovation
The future of the OECD
  • Status quo: risks losing influence and economic clout to new actors
  • Aim: globalisation hub
  • Five candidate countries for accession: Chile, Estonia, Israel, Russia and Slovenia
  • Enhanced engagement with the "global players" of tomorrow: Brazil, China, India, Indonesia, South Africa

http://www.oecd.org/about/membersandpartners/enlargement.htm Accession process
http://www.oecd.org/general/theoecdsrelationswithitskeypartners.htm Enhanced engagement procedure