UNESCO World Heritage

Today, Switzerland has 11 UNESCO World Heritage sites, including the Jungfrau-Aletsch region (Aletsch glacier), the remains of prehistoric pile-dwellings, as well as two incredibly scenic railway lines in the canton of Graubünden.

View of the Lavaux vineyards on the shores of Lake Geneva
The terraced vineyards of the Lavaux, canton of Vaud © www.diapo.ch / Régis Colombo

UNESCO has set itself the mission of protecting cultural and natural heritage of outstanding universal value. To help it achieve this goal, it has drawn up a list, which currently comprises 981 cultural or natural heritage sites. Eleven of these are in Switzerland. Eight are cultural heritage sites (buildings of particular architectural merit, entire towns, and sites created by the emergence of industrialisation), while the remaining three are natural heritage sites.

The first three Swiss sites to be accepted on the UNESCO list, back in 1983, are the Library and Monastery Complex of St. Gallen, the Old City of Bern and the Benedictine Convent of St. John in Müstair (canton of Graubünden). These were followed in 2000 by the Three Castles of Bellinzona (canton of Ticino), and their medieval defensive walls and ramparts, and by the Jungfrau-Aletsch region (cantons of Bern and Valais) in 2001.

In 2003 UNESCO World Natural Heritage status was granted to the pyramid-shaped Monte San Giorgio (canton of Ticino) and its repository of 250-300 million-year-old fossils. The terraced vineyards of Lavaux (canton of Vaud) followed suit in 2007. Likewise, the Albula and Bernina lines of the Rhaetian Railway and the Swiss Tectonic Arena of Sardona (cantons of Graubünden, St. Gallen and Glarus) were named UNESCO World Heritage sites in 2008. The following year saw the addition of the watchmaking centre of La Chaux-de-Fonds.

The most recent Swiss addition to the list of UNESCO World Heritage sites was in 2011 and comprises 56 sites containing the relics of prehistoric pile dwellings dating from around 5,000 BC to 500 BC. These are found on lake shores, riverbanks and marshes. Switzerland has still one application pending: the urban and architectural work of Le Corbusier.

Additional information

UNESCO-Welterbe

In der Schweiz gibt es elf Standorte, die zum Welterbe der UNESCO gehören, unter anderen die Region Jungfrau-Aletsch (Aletschgletscher), Überreste prähistorischer Pfahlbauten und zwei atemberaubende Bergbahnstrecken im Kanton Graubünden.

Ausblick auf Weinberge des Lavaux am Genfer See
Die terrassierten Weinberge des Lavaux, Kanton Waadt. © www.diapo.ch / Régis Colombo

Die UNESCO hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, kulturelles und natürliches Erbe von universeller Bedeutung zu bewahren. Sie führt eine entsprechende Liste, auf welcher derzeit 981 Standorte verzeichnet sind. Elf davon befinden sich in der Schweiz, bei deren acht handelt es sich um Weltkulturerbe (Bauwerke, Stadtbilder und Zeugen der beginnenden Industrialisierung). Bei den übrigen drei Standorten handelt es sich um Weltnaturerbe.

Die ersten drei Schweizer Standorte, die 1983 in die UNESCO-Liste aufgenommen wurden, sind die Stiftsbibliothek und der Stiftsbezirk St. Gallen, die Berner Altstadt und das Benediktinerinnen-Kloster St. Johann in Müstair (Kanton Graubünden). Im Jahr 2000 kamen die drei Burgen sowie Festungs- und die Stadtmauer von Bellinzona (Kanton Tessin) hinzu. 2001 folgte die Region Jungfrau-Aletsch (Kantone Bern und Wallis).

2003 wurde der pyramidenförmige Monte San Giorgio (Kanton Tessin) mit seinen Fossilen aus der Zeit vor 250 bis 300 Millionen Jahren von der UNESCO als Weltnaturerbe anerkannt. Dann folgten 2007 die terrassierten Weinberge von Lavaux (Kanton Waadt), während die beiden Bahnstrecken Albula und Bernina der Rhätischen Bahn im Jahr 2008 ins Verzeichnis des UNESCO-Weltkulturerbes aufgenommen wurden. Im gleichen Jahr wurde auch die Tektonik-Arena Sardona (Kantone Graubünden, St. Gallen und Glarus) als Welterbe anerkannt. Und ein Jahr darauf folgte ihnen die Uhrenstadt La Chaux-de-Fonds.

Der bisher letzte Standort wurde 2011 in die UNESCO-Liste aufgenommen. Es handelt sich um 56 Orte mit Überresten von prähistorischen Pfahlbauten aus einer Zeit um 5’000 bis ca. 500 Jahre vor Christi Geburt. Sie befinden sich an See- und Flussufern oder in Sumpfgebieten. Bei der UNESCO hängig ist der Antrag der Schweiz um Anerkennung des städtebaulichen und architektonischen Werkes von Le Corbusier.

Weiterführende Informationen