Bread

More than 200 varieties of bread are baked in Switzerland. The country is also renowned for its pastries.

Some loaves of bread
© PDO / PGI

Bread baking is a centuries-old tradition in Switzerland. The variety of breads reflects regional preferences and tastes. The German-speaking Swiss tend to prefer their bread darker than their French- and Italian-speaking neighbours. However, as people have become more health-conscious, white bread is increasingly losing ground to brown varieties.

Each canton has its own particular style of loaf. In Graubünden, the loaf is ring-shaped and made from a mixture of wheat and rye flour. The typical Jura loaf is decorated with the cantonal coat-of-arms. The Ticino loaf, made from white flour, is made up of several little loaves put together. Rye bread from the canton of Valais is the only Swiss bread to have the AOP label (protected designation of origin). There is also an array of special festive breads, such as “Cuchaule” from the canton of Fribourg, a saffron-infused brioche loaf served during “Bénichon/Chilbi” (harvest festival).

Pastries

Switzerland also has a large assortment of traditional biscuits. They include “Läckerli” (made from wheat flour, honey, sugar, candied fruit and nuts), “Hüppen” (rolled and filled wafers) and “Bricelets/Offleten”, wafer-thin waffle biscuits. There are also a number of specialities that are served on the Feast of St Nicholas and during Advent, such as “Lebkuchen” (gingerbread), “Biberli” (marzipan-filled gingerbread), and “Grittibänz”, little leavened man-shaped bread rolls.

Additional information

Brot

Mehr als 200 Sorten Brot werden in der Schweiz gebacken. Die Schweiz ist zudem bekannt für ihr Feingebäck.

Einige Brote
© AOP / IPG

Das Brotbacken hat in der Schweiz eine jahrhundertelange Tradition. Die verschiedenen Sorten bringen die regionalen Vorlieben zum Ausdruck: In der deutschen Schweiz wird vorwiegend dunkles Brot gegessen, in der Romandie und im Tessin vorwiegend Weissbrot. Insgesamt verliert das Weissbrot an Bedeutung gegenüber dem Schwarzbrot, das als gesünder gilt.

Jeder Kanton hat sein eigenes traditionelles Brot. In Graubünden zum Beispiel wird ein dunkles Brot aus Weizen- und Roggenmehl in Ringform gebacken. Brot aus dem Jura ist mit dem Kantonswappen verziert. Das Tessiner Brot ist aus Weissmehl und setzt sich aus vielen kleinen Laiben zusammen. Das Walliser Roggenbrot ist das bisher einzige Schweizer Brot mit dem Label AOP (Geschützte Herkunftsbezeichnung). Als besonderes Festtagsbrot ist die «Cuchaule» zu erwähnen, ein Brioche-Brot mit Safran, das im Kanton Freiburg zur «Chilbi» gebacken wird.

Feingebäck

Es gibt eine grosse Vielfalt an Konfekt wie zum Beispiel die Läckerli aus Weizenmehl, Honig, Zucker, kandierten Früchten und Nüssen, die Hüppen, ein gerolltes und gefülltes Waffelgebäck oder die Offleten, ebenfalls aus Waffelteig. Zahlreiche Spezialitäten sind mit St. Nikolaus und der Adventszeit verbunden, etwa die Lebkuchen, die Biberli (Gebäck mit Mandelfüllung) oder die Grittibänzen aus Hefeteig.

Weiterführende Informationen