Swiss specialities

Many of Switzerland’s national dishes are well-known around the world.

Swiss Raclette
Swiss Raclette © FDFA, Presence Switzerland

Cheese fondue

Cheese fondue is made from Gruyère and Vacherin cheese (or Appenzeller). A splash of white wine is usually added to help the melting process. The bubbling cheese is served in a “caquelon” (heavy-bottomed pot), into which diners dip small cubes of bread skewered on a long-handled fork.

Raclette

Raclette is a typical dish from Valais. A half cheese round is heated and the melting cheese is scraped on to the plate. Traditionally, it is eaten with boiled potatoes, gherkins and pickled onions, and accompanied by a glass of white wine, usually Fendant.

Rösti

Rösti is a type of potato cake. The potatoes are first cooked in their jackets, then peeled and grated before being fried in butter to form a cake. Each region has their own version. In Bern, rösti comes with cheese, onions and bacon. In Zurich, the birthplace of rösti, the dish is prepared with grated raw potato.

Bircher muesli

Bircher muesli is a breakfast dish or snack made from cereal (oat) flakes, finely chopped fruit and milk. There are countless variations with additional ingredients like honey, yogurt and nuts. Bircher muesli was invented by Swiss doctor Max Bircher-Benner in the early 20th century. It was originally served in sanatoria, but it did not take long before it found its way on to breakfast tables across Switzerland.

Additional information

Schweizer Spezialitäten

Einige Schweizer Nationalgerichte sind über die Grenzen hinaus bekannt.

Schweizer Raclette
Schweizer Raclette © EDA, Präsenz Schweiz

Käsefondue

Das Käsefondue wird aus Greyerzer-, Vacherin- oder Appenzellerkäse zubereitet. Der Käse wird häufig unter Beigabe von Weisswein geschmolzen. Gegessen wird das Fondue heiss aus einem Caquelon, indem an einer langen Gabel Brotstücke in die Käsemasse getunkt werden.

Raclette

Das Racelette ist ein typisches Gericht aus dem Wallis. Ein halber Käselaib wird erhitzt und der flüssige Käse auf den Teller geschabt. Genossen wird das Raclette zusammen mit Kartoffeln, Cornichons und Silberzwiebeln. Zu diesem Gericht wird meist Weisswein getrunken, insbesondere Fendant.

Rösti

Die Rösti ist eine Art Kartoffelfladen. Die Kartoffeln werden gekocht, geschält, geraspelt und anschliessend in Butter in der Pfanne zu einem Fladen gebraten. Jede Region hat ihre eigenen Rösti-Varianten. Berner Rösti wird mit Käse, Zwiebeln und Speck zubereitet. In Zürich, wo die Rösti ursprünglich herkommt, wird sie aus rohen Kartoffeln hergestellt.

Birchermüesli

Das Birchermüesli ist eine Frühstücks- oder Zwischenmahlzeit, bestehend aus Getreide- (Hafer)flocken, kleingeschnittenen Früchten und Milch. Es gibt unzählige Varianten mit Honig, Joghurt und Nüssen. Das Birchermüesli ist eine Erfindung von Doktor Max Bircher-Benner Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts. Ursprünglich war es ein Gericht für die Kliniken, im Laufe der Zeit fand es Verbreitung in der gesamten Bevölkerung.

Weiterführende Informationen