Multilingualism

Switzerland is divided into four distinct language regions. However, many people speak several languages.

Street signs in French and German
Street signs in French and German in the bilingual town Biel/Bienne. © FDFA, Presence Switzerland

Six out of ten adults in Switzerland regularly use more than one language.

The most commonly spoken foreign languages are English, Portuguese, Spanish, Serbian, Croatian and Albanian.

Four of Switzerland's 26 cantons are officially multilingual: Bern (German-French), Fribourg (French-German), Valais (French-German) and Graubünden (German-Romansh-Italian). The cities of Biel and Fribourg are bilingual (German and French).

German, French and Italian are the official languages of the Confederation. Romansh, although a national language, is used by the federal authorities only when communicating with Romansh speakers. All official federal documents (legislation, reports, websites, brochures and building signage) must appear in German, French and Italian.

The Federal Office of Culture has chief responsibility for promoting multilingualism. The Federal Languages Act governs the use of the official languages of the Confederation, the promotion of multilingualism within the administration, support for multilingual cantons and the promotion of Romansh and Italian languages and cultures.

Mehrsprachigkeit

Die Schweiz setzt sich aus vier Sprachregionen zusammen, doch ein grosser Teil der Bevölkerung spricht mehrere Sprachen.

Strassenschilder in Deutsch und Französisch
Strassenschilder in Deutsch und Französisch in der zweisprachigen Stadt Biel/Bienne. © EDA, Präsenz Schweiz

In der Schweiz sprechen mehr als 6 von 10 Erwachsenen regelmässig mehr als eine Sprache.

Neben den Landessprachen wird sehr häufig Englisch, Portugiesisch, Spanisch, Serbisch, Kroatisch und Albanisch gesprochen.

Von den 26 Schweizer Kantonen sind 4 offiziell mehrsprachig: Bern (Deutsch und Französisch), Freiburg (Französisch und Deutsch), Wallis (Französisch und Deutsch) und Graubünden (Deutsch, Romanisch, Italienisch). Auch die zwei Städte Biel und Freiburg sind zweisprachig (Deutsch und Französisch).

Auf Bundesebene sind Deutsch, Französisch und Italienisch offizielle Amtssprachen, wobei das Romanische im Verkehr des Bundes mit Personen romanischer Sprache hinzukommt. Alle amtlichen Texte des Bundes (Gesetztestexte, Berichte, Internetseiten, Broschüren, Gebäudebeschriftungen) müssen auf Deutsch, Französisch und Italienisch abgefasst sein.

Die Förderung der Mehrsprachigkeit fällt zur Hauptsache in die Zuständigkeit des Bundesamtes für Kultur. Das Sprachengesetz regelt insbesondere die Verwendung der Amtssprachen des Bundes, die Förderung der Mehrsprachigkeit in der Verwaltung, die Unterstützung der mehrsprachigen Kantone und die Förderung der romanischen und italienischen Sprache und ihrer Kulturen.