Swiss Plateau

The Swiss Plateau stretches from Lake Geneva in the southwest to Lake Constance in the northeast.

View over the Emmental, canton of Bern
The Emmental region of the Bernese Mittelland © Imagepoint.biz

It covers around 30% of the country's surface area and is home to two-thirds of the total population. Most of Switzerland's main towns and cities and industrial centres are concentrated in the Plateau.

Around half of the Plateau (49.5%) is given over to agricultural use and one-quarter (24.3%) to forests and woodland. Residential areas and infrastructure account for 16% of land use in the Plateau, twice the national average.

Contrary to what the name suggests, the Swiss Plateau is anything but flat and uniform. It is made up of many hilly areas, several large lakes (Geneva, Neuchâtel, Zurich and Constance) and major rivers like the Aare, Saane/Sarine and Rhine.

Mittelland

Das Schweizer Mittelland erstreckt sich vom Genfersee im Südwesten bis zum Bodensee im Nordosten der Schweiz.

Blick über das Emmental im Kanton Bern
Blick über das Emmental im Kanton Bern © Imagepoint.biz

Das Mittelland macht etwa 30 Prozent der Gesamtfläche der Schweiz aus und beherbergt mehr als zwei Drittel der Gesamtbevölkerung. Die meisten grossen Agglomerationen und Industriestandorte befinden sich im Mittelland.

Etwa die Hälfte des Mittellandes (49,5%) entfällt auf Landwirtschaftsgebiet, ein Viertel (24,3%) auf Wald. Wohngebiete und Infrastruktur beanspruchen 16% des Mittellandes, zweimal so viel wie im nationalen Mittel.

Anders als es der Name vermuten lassen könnte, ist das Mittelland keineswegs eben und gleichförmig; es ist vielmehr geprägt von einer vielfältigen Hügelzone, mehreren grossen Seen (Genfersee, Neuenburgersee, Zürichsee, Bodensee) und bedeutenden Flüssen wie die Aare, die Saane oder der Rhein.