Banks and insurance providers

Banks, insurance providers and pension funds in Switzerland employ some 204,300 full-time equivalent staff and generate about 10% of the country's GDP. Switzerland's finance sector is the global leader in wealth management. It also ensures basic services for the Swiss economy and population such as loans and other financial services. The banking tradition in Switzerland dates back to the 16th century.

Safe-deposit boxes in a bank
Safe-deposit boxes in a bank © FDFA, Presence Switzerland

The banks are a pillar of the Swiss economy. In 2018 the sector generated value-added of around CHF 33 billion, or about 4.7% of the country’s GDP. If the value-added generated by the insurance sector is also included, the financial sector contributes about 10% to Switzerland’s GDP.

In 2018, the number of full-time equivalent employees in the financial sector was 204,300, some 105,000 of whom worked in banks. As well as the direct contribution to GDP, the regionally diverse banking sector provides the Swiss economy and the population with loans and other financial services.

Switzerland is one of the most important financial centres in the world. In terms of cross-border private banking, Switzerland was the world leader in 2017, with a market share of 27.5%. In 2017 Swiss banks managed assets worth over CHF 7.9 trillion, of which around one half were from abroad.

There are 253 banks in Switzerland (2017). The two banking giants UBS and Credit Suisse have an approximate 50% share of the market. The remaining 50% is mostly divided among the 24 cantonal banks, foreign banks, Raiffeisen banks, investment banks, regional banks, savings banks and private banks.

Origins and development 

The banking tradition in Switzerland dates back to the 16th century, but it was only after the two world wars that the country became a leading international financial centre. Stability, neutrality and a strong Swiss franc, as well as the establishment of banking secrecy in 1934 were some of the factors that led to an influx of capital from abroad. The second half of the 20th century was a period of major growth for the banking sector. Between 1980 and 2005 the value-added generated by the financial industry grew by 3.5% year-on-year, while the rest of the economy grew by only 1.3%.

Swiss banks were also adversely affected by the global financial crisis of 2007/2008. International reforms to shore up stability and improve transparency in the financial markets (e.g. Basel III, automatic sharing of tax information etc.) forced the Swiss financial centre to revise its strategy. Switzerland's swift introduction of ‘too big to fail’ regulations and the subsequent adherence to international standards are designed to ensure that the Swiss financial centre continues to flourish in the future. Thanks to the stability of its currency and political system, as well as its high level of legal certainty, Switzerland remains one of the world’s most important financial centres.

Banken und Versicherungen

Banken, Versicherungen und Pensionskassen in der Schweiz bieten gemeinsam den Gegenwert von rund 204’300 Vollzeitstellen an und erwirtschaften rund 10% der Bruttoinlandproduktes. In der Vermögensverwaltung international führend, stellt der Finanzsektor auch die Grundversorgung der Wirtschaft und der Bevölkerung mit Krediten und Finanzdienstleistungen sicher. Die Anfänge des Bankenwesens gehen auf das 16. Jahrhundert zurück.

Bankschliessfächer
Bankschliessfächer © EDA, Präsenz Schweiz

Die Banken sind einer der tragenden Säulen der Schweizer Wirtschaft. Im Jahr 2018 belief sich die Wertschöpfung der Branche auf rund 33 Milliarden Franken, was ungefähr 4.7% des Brutto-Inlandprodukts entspricht. Rechnet man die Wertschöpfung der Versicherungen hinzu, trägt der Finanzsektor insgesamt knapp 10% zum Brutto-Inlandprodukt der Schweiz bei.

Die Zahl der Beschäftigten in Vollzeitäquivalenten beträgt 2018 rund 204’300, davon entfallen 105’000 auf die Banken. Neben der direkten Wertschöpfung sorgt der vielfältige und regional diversifizierte Schweizer Bankenplatz für eine effiziente Grundversorgung der inländischen Wirtschaft und der Bevölkerung mit Krediten und anderen Finanzdienstleistungen.

Die Schweiz ist einer der wichtigsten Finanzplätze der Welt. Der Schweizer Bankensektor war Ende 2017 mit einem Anteil von 27,5% in der weltweiten grenzüberschreitenden Vermögensverwaltung Spitzenreiter. Im Jahr 2017 verwalteten die Schweizer Banken Vermögenswerte von 7292Milliarden Franken, wovon rund die Hälfte aus dem Ausland stammt.

In der Schweiz gibt es rund 253 Banken (2017). Die zwei internationalen Grossbanken UBS und Credit Suisse nehmen einen Marktanteil von rund 50% in Anspruch. Die restlichen 50% entfallen zur Hauptsache auf die 24 Kantonalbanken, auf ausländische Banken, auf Raiffeisenbanken, auf Börsenbanken, auf Regionalbanken und Sparkassen sowie auf Privatbankiers.

Ursprung und Entwicklung 

Die Anfänge des Bankgeschäftes in der Schweiz gehen auf das 16. Jahrhundert zurück, aber erst nach den beiden Weltkriegen entwickelt sich die Schweiz zu einem bedeutenden internationalen Finanzplatz. Stabilität, Neutralität, der starke Schweizer Franken und die Einführung des Bankgeheimnisses im Jahr 1934 waren einige der Faktoren, die zu einem stetigen Zufluss von Vermögenswerten aus dem Ausland geführt haben. Die zweite Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts war für die Schweizer Banken eine Zeit des starken Wachstums. Zwischen 1980 und 2005 wuchs die Wertschöpfung der Finanzindustrie jährlich um 3,5% an, während das Wachstum der übrigen Wirtschaftsbranchen gerade einmal 1,3% betrug. 

In den Jahren 2007/2008 litten auch die Schweizer Banken empfindlich unter der Finanzkrise. Internationale Reformen zur Verbesserung der Stabilität und der Transparenz auf den Finanzmärkten (z.B. Basel III, automatischer Informationsaustausch u.a.) haben eine Neuausrichtung des Schweizer Finanzplatzes gefördert. Die rasche Einführung des «too big to fail»-Regimes und die konsequente Übernahme internationaler Standards durch die Schweiz sollen dem Finanzplatz eine erfolgreiche Zukunft sichern. Dank der politischen Stabilität, der hohen Rechtssicherheit sowie der stabilen Währung ist die Schweiz nach wie vor einer der bedeutendsten Finanzplätze der Welt.