Taxation

Private individuals and businesses in Switzerland benefit from some of the lowest tax rates in Europe.

Symbolic image of the distribution of cantonal taxes
Direct taxes vary according to canton and commune. © Economie suisse

The Swiss tax system reflects the country’s federal structure. Businesses and private individuals pay tax at all three levels of government (federal, cantonal and communal). The Federal Treasury collects around 30% of all tax revenue, the cantons 40% and the communes the remaining 30%.

Direct taxes

Private individuals and businesses pay direct taxes, which make up roughly 70% of total tax revenue. These direct taxes comprise personal income tax (levied according to a progressive scale), corporate income tax (levied at a rate of between 16% and 25%), and personal wealth tax (with most cantons applying a progressive scale).

Inheritance tax remains exclusively a cantonal matter, with almost all 26 cantons levying such a tax.

However, there is a federal withholding tax. It is levied at a rate of 35% on income from bank interest and on Swiss lottery prizes. Although it is deducted at source, it is refunded in full to the tax payer provided that these assets and income are disclosed in the former's tax declaration.

Indirect taxes

Indirect taxes make up around 30% of all tax revenue in Switzerland. The main indirect tax is the value-added tax (VAT), which is levied at federal level. Currently set at 8% of generated turnover, it is the lowest VAT rate in Europe. A reduced rate of 3.8% is levied on accommodation services, while basic necessities and other everyday items are subject to a 2.5% VAT rate. Medical and educational services are exempt from VAT.

Additional information

Steuerwesen

Die Steuerbelastungen natürlicher und juristischer Personen in der Schweiz gehören zu den niedrigsten in ganz Europa.

Symbolgraphik Verteilung der kantonalen Steuerlasten
Direkte Steuern variieren je nach Kanton und Gemeinde. © Economie suisse

Auch das Steuersystem der Schweiz widerspiegelt die föderale Struktur des Landes. Unternehmen und Privatpersonen sind auf allen drei Ebenen (Bund, Kanton und Gemeinde) steuerpflichtig. Rund 30% aller Steuereinnahmen fliessen in die Bundeskasse, 40% in die Kassen der Kantone, und die restlichen 30% erhalten die Gemeinden.

Direkte Steuern

Direkte Steuern werden von natürlichen und juristischen Personen bezahlt. Sie machen rund 70% der gesamten Steuererträge aus und setzen sich zusammen aus Einkommenssteuern mit progressiven Steuersätzen, Gewinnsteuern von Unternehmen, deren Sätze zwischen 16 und 25% variieren, und Vermögenssteuern natürlicher Personen, wofür in den meisten Kantonen ebenfalls progressive Steuersätze gelten.

Der Bund erhebt keine Erbschaftssteuer, wohl aber die meisten Kantone.

Die Verrechnungssteuer mit einem Satz von 35% ist eine vom Bund erhobene Quellensteuer auf Bankzinsen oder Lotteriegewinnen. Sie wird vollumfänglich an den Steuerpflichtigen zurückerstattet, wenn dieser die entsprechenden Erträge und Vermögenswerte in seiner Steuererklärung deklariert.

Indirekte Steuern

Die indirekten Steuern tragen etwa 30% zu den Steuereinnahmen in der Schweiz bei. Die wichtigste indirekte Steuer ist die Mehrwertsteuer (MWSt), die vom Bund erhoben wird. Der Steuersatz beträgt derzeit 8% des getätigten Umsatzes, der niedrigste Mehrwertsteuersatz Europas. Ein reduzierter Satz von 3,8% gilt für Beherbergungsleistungen und von 2,5% für Güter des täglichen Gebrauchs. Ärztliche Leistungen und Ausbildung sind von der Mehrwertsteuer befreit.

Weiterführende Informationen