Secondary Level

The secondary education system is divided into two levels. Lower secondary is the final stage of compulsory education, but more than 90% of pupils continue on to upper-secondary level.

Children in a school yard
© Ringier

Lower-secondary level

Lower-secondary follows on from primary level. Children are generally around 12 years old when they start lower secondary, and in most cantons this education takes three years. Performance at the end of primary school, teachers' recommendations (often with the inclusion of the parents' opinion), and in some cases a transition examination, determine the particular performance level to which the pupil is assigned in lower-secondary education. The transition procedures differ according to canton and model. Tuition is generally given by specialists in the given discipline.

Upper-secondary level

Over 90% of young people in Switzerland continue on to upper-secondary level, where they can choose between vocational education and training or general education. Upper-secondary programmes run for between three and four years.

The majority of young people (two-thirds) in Switzerland opt for the VET route, where they learn their chosen trade. In most cases, this involves serving a part-time apprenticeship and taking classes at a trade school. The technical term for this model is “dual vocational education and training”.

General education programmes are dispensed primarily by baccalaureate schools and prepare pupils for entry to university.

Secondaire

Le niveau secondaire se divise en deux degrés. Le secondaire I marque la fin de la scolarité obligatoire. Plus de 90% des jeunes poursuivent leur formation dans le secondaire II.

Jeunes dans une cour d'école
© Ringier

Le degré secondaire I

Le degré secondaire I suit le degré primaire. Les enfants y accèdent vers l’âge de 12 ans et sa durée est de trois ans dans la plupart des cantons.  Les performances à la fin du degré primaire, la recommandation de l’enseignante ou de l’enseignant (souvent, les parents sont impliqués) ainsi que parfois un examen de passage déterminent l’orientation vers le niveau d’aptitude au degré secondaire I. Les procédures de passage varient selon le canton et le modèle.  L’enseignement est majoritairement donné par des spécialistes de chaque discipline.

Le degré secondaire II

Après la scolarité obligatoire, plus de 90% des jeunes poursuivent leur formation en passant au degré secondaire II.  Ils ont le choix entre deux voies de formation, dont la durée oscille entre trois et quatre ans: la formation professionnelle et la formation générale.

La formation professionnelle est la formation initiale la plus répandue en Suisse. Elle permet à deux tiers des jeunes d’apprendre un métier. Elle s’effectue la plupart du temps en entreprise, parallèlement à un enseignement théorique dispensé au sein d’une école professionnelle. Le terme technique de ce type de formation est «formation professionnelle duale».

La formation générale est dispensée principalement par les écoles de maturité gymnasiale, qui préparent à l’entrée dans les hautes écoles universitaires. Pour y accéder, les élèves doivent obtenir de bons résultats scolaires au degré secondaire I.