Events

Every year Switzerland hosts an array of major international events, such as the World Economic Forum in Davos, Art Basel and the athletics meeting “Weltklasse Zurich”.

Exhibition room at Art Basel with visitors
© Art Basel

Switzerland has a very busy events calendar. Many of these events are followed around the world. In mid-January there is the international Lauberhorn ski races in Wengen (canton of Bern), the longest downhill competition in the entire Ski World Cup circuit. Then, towards the end of the month, heads of states, business leaders, economists and other experts from around the world converge on Davos (canton of Graubünden) for the World Economic Forum (WEF).

January is also when Geneva hosts the “Salon international de la haute horlogerie” (international watch fair). In March there is Baselworld, which has been the showcase for leading watch and jewellery brands for close to a century. In June, contemporary art lovers flock to Art Basel. Founded in 1970, and now with parallel events in Miami and Hong Kong, this huge fair exhibits works from 300 galleries and by over 4,000 artists.

The international athletics meeting “Weltklasse Zürich” takes place in August. A total of 25 world records have been set since the first meeting 80 years ago. In September, the winter sports resort Crans-Montana hosts the golf tournament Omega European Masters, one of the most important legs on the European Tour.

Additional information

Manifestations

Plusieurs grandes manifestations de renommée internationale ont lieu chaque année en Suisse, comme le Forum économique mondial de Davos, l’exposition Art Basel ou le meeting d’athlétisme «Weltklasse Zurich».

Visiteurs de l'exposition Art Basel
© Art Basel

En Suisse, l’année est rythmée par une série de grandes manifestations, dont le rayonnement va bien au-delà des frontières nationales. Cela commence mi-janvier avec la course de ski alpin du Lauberhorn, à Wengen (canton de Berne), la plus longue sur le circuit de la coupe du monde de ski. A la fin du mois de janvier, des chefs d’Etat, des économistes et des experts du monde entier se réunissent à Davos (canton des Grisons) pour le Forum économique mondial.

En janvier également, Genève accueille le Salon international de la haute horlogerie, tandis que Baselworld, qui a lieu en mars, accueille depuis près d’un siècle les plus grandes marques d’horlogerie et de bijouterie. En juin, les amateurs d’art moderne et contemporain se rendent à Bâle pour l’exposition Art Basel, la plus importante au monde dans ce domaine. Fondée en 1970 et déclinée depuis en événements parallèles tenus à Miami et Hong Kong, cette gigantesque foire présente les œuvres de 300 galeries et plus de 4000 artistes.

En août, Zurich abrite le championnat d’athlétisme Weltklasse, affilié à la Diamond League. Depuis sa création, il y a 80 ans, il a donné lieu à 25 records mondiaux. En septembre, la station de ski Crans-Montana organise le tournoi de golf «Omega European Masters», l’une des plus importantes compétitions européennes sur le circuit. 

Informations supplémentaires