Chocolate

Switzerland is famous around the world for its chocolate. It owes this renown to the innovative advances of Swiss chocolate makers in the 19th century.

A "conche" machine used in chocolate-making
A “conche”, the machine used in chocolate-making to produce smooth and creamy chocolate that melts in the mouth. © CHOCOSUISSE, Association of Swiss Chocolate Manufacturers, www.chocosuisse.ch CHOCOSUISSE

Switzerland is one of the largest chocolate producers in the world, and has the highest per capita chocolate consumption. In 2016, Switzerland’s 18 leading chocolate producers manufactured more than 180,000 tonnes of chocolate, of which 64% was sold abroad. The largest producers are Nestlé, Lindt & Sprüngli and Frey.

The first chocolate factories emerged at the end of the 18th century in French-speaking Switzerland (Vevey, Morges and Lausanne) and in Val di Blenio in Ticino. During the 19th century, chocolate production spread. Mechanisation led to lower prices and, consequently, the customer base for chocolate grew ever wider.

A number of inventions were the brainchild of Swiss chocolate makers. For example, in 1875, Daniel Peter became the first person to make milk chocolate by combining Nestlé condensed milk with cocoa. Together with the descendants of Charles-Amédée Kohler, who invented hazelnut chocolate, Peter set up his own company. In 1879, Rudolf Lindt opened a chocolate factory in Bern and developed ‘conching’, a process which created the world's first ‘melting chocolate’.

In the 20th century a number of independent chocolate makers were bought by major food companies, such as Cailler which was taken over by Nestlé in 1929. Other small producers managed to remain independent, and continue to keep the artisan chocolate-making tradition alive in Switzerland.

Additional information

Chocolat

Le chocolat suisse est connu dans le monde entier. Sa réputation repose sur des méthodes inventives développées au 19e siècle par les chocolatiers helvétiques

Une conche, servant à fabriquer le chocolat
Une conche permettant de fabriquer un chocolat homogène et fondant. © CHOCOSUISSE, Fédération des fabricants suisses de chocolat, www.chocosuisse.ch

La Suisse est un des plus grands producteurs de chocolat au monde et le plus grand consommateur par habitant. En 2015 les 18 principaux fabricants de chocolat produisent plus de 180’000 tonnes de chocolats par année, dont 64% est vendu à l’étranger. Les plus grands producteurs de chocolat sont Nestlé, Lindt & Sprüngli et Frey.

Les premières fabriques de chocolat sont apparues à la fin du 18e siècle en Suisse romande – à Vevey, Morges et Lausanne – et dans le Val Blenio, au Tessin. Au cours du 19e siècle, la fabrication du chocolat s’est répandue. L’automatisation de la production a fait baisser les prix, et le produit a progressivement touché une plus large palette de consommateurs. 

Les chocolatiers suisses ont introduit plusieurs innovations. Ainsi, Daniel Peter sera le premier, en 1875, à combiner le lait condensé de Nestlé avec du cacao, pour faire du chocolat au lait. Il fondera par la suite une entreprise avec les descendants de Charles-Amédée Kohler, l’un des inventeurs du chocolat aux noisettes. En 1879, Rodolphe Lindt ouvre une manufacture de chocolat à Berne et met au point le «conchage», un procédé permettant de produire le premier chocolat fondant du monde. 

Au cours du 20e siècle, certains fabricants se sont fait racheter par de grands groupes alimentaires, à l’instar de Cailler, repris par Nestlé à partir de 1929. D’autres petits fabricants sont restés indépendants et perpétuent aujourd’hui encore la tradition du chocolatier artisanal.

Informations supplémentaires