Lakes and Rivers

Switzerland is the source of roughly 6% of Europe’s freshwater reserves. Lakes and rivers account for around 4% of the country’s surface area.

The River Hinterrhein near Rothenbrunnen
The Upper Rhine near Rothenbrunnen, Graubünden © FDFA, Presence Switzerland

Switzerland has around 1,500 lakes. The largest lakes are at the northern foot of the Jura (Lakes Geneva, Neuchâtel and Biel), on the Plateau (Lakes Constance and Zurich), in the Lower Alps and the Northern Alps (Lakes Thun, Brienz, Zug and Lucerne), and in the Southern Alps (Lakes Lugano and Maggiore). Added to this are the hundreds of small natural lakes and reservoirs, which can be found mostly in the Alps.

The majority of Swiss lakes were once glaciers and formed during the last ice age. Lake Geneva, which is shared by France and Switzerland, is the largest freshwater lake in central Europe. The largest lake which lies wholly on Swiss territory is the 218km2 Lake Neuchâtel.


The Rhone, Rhine and Inn all take their source in Switzerland. Their waters flow into three seas: the Mediterranean, the North Sea and the Black Sea (via the Danube). A total of 375km of the River Rhine runs through Switzerland, while the Rhone runs over 264km and the Inn 90km.

Additional information

Lacs et rivières

La Suisse possède 6% des réserves européennes d’eau douce. Environ 4% de la surface du pays sont recouverts de lacs ou de rivières.

Le Rhin supérieur, près de Rothenbrunnen
Le Rhin supérieur près de Rothenbrunnen, Grisons. © DFAE, Présence Suisse

On dénombre quelque 1500 lacs en Suisse, dont les plus grands se trouvent au pied du Jura (lac Léman, lac de Neuchâtel et lac de Bienne), sur le Plateau (lac de Constance, lac de Zurich), dans les Préalpes et sur le versant septentrional des Alpes (lac de Thoune, lac de Brienz, lac de Zoug et lac des Quatre-Cantons) et sur leur versant méridional (lac de Lugano et lac Majeur). Il faut y ajouter des centaines de petits lacs naturels et de retenue, surtout dans les Alpes.

La plupart des lacs suisses sont d’anciens glaciers qui se sont formés pendant la période glaciaire.   Le lac Léman, situé à la frontière franco-suisse, est le plus grand lac d’Europe occidentale. Le plus grand lac entièrement suisse est le lac de Neuchâtel, avec une surface de 218km2.

Le Rhône, le Rhin et l’Inn prennent leur source en Suisse. Le Rhône se jette dans la mer Méditerranée, le Rhin dans la mer du Nord et l’Inn, après avoir rejoint le Danube, dans la mer Noire. Le Rhin court sur 375km en Suisse, le Rhône sur 264km et l’Inn sur 90km.

Informations supplémentaires