Research and Development

Switzerland is one of the highest spenders on research and development in the world.

Laboratory technician at work
Maschine manufacturing at Buehler AG, Uzwil © Hanspeter Baertschi

Switzerland invests over CHF 16 billion in research and development (R&D) annually, which is equivalent to around 3% of its gross domestic product. This makes it the sixth highest spender on R&D in the world.

The universities and the two federal institutes of technology – the Federal Institutes of Technology in Zurich and Lausanne –  focus primarily on basic research. Universities of applied sciences and the private sector, however, concentrate on applied research and responding to the needs of the economy.

The private sector is a major player when it comes to research and development in Switzerland. In 2012, it invested a total of CHF 12.8 billion (2.2% of GDP) in R&D. Three-quarters of this funding went to R&D intensive sectors: the pharmaceutical and chemical industry (34%), the mechanical engineering and metals industry (16%), research laboratories (14%) and new technologies (11%).

Recherche et développement

La Suisse est un des pays qui investit le plus au monde dans la recherche et développement.

Laborantine au travail
Production de machines à la Buehler AG d'Uzwil. © Hanspeter Baertschi

La Suisse consacre chaque année plus de 16 milliards de francs à la recherche et développement (R&D), soit près de 3% de son produit intérieur brut.  A l’échelle internationale, elle se positionne à la sixième place des pays investissant le plus dans ce secteur.

Les universités et les écoles polytechniques fédérales se consacrent prioritairement à la recherche fondamentale. Les hautes écoles spécialisées et les entreprises privées s’attachent quant à elles à la recherche appliquée et aux besoins de l’économie.

En Suisse, les entreprises privées jouent un rôle prépondérant dans la R&D. En 2012, elles y ont investi 12,8 milliards de francs (2,2% du PIB). Les trois quarts de cette somme ont été dépensés dans quatre secteurs d’activités traditionnellement dynamiques en matière de recherche: l’industrie pharmaceutique et chimique (34%), l’industrie mécanique et métallurgique (16%), les laboratoires de recherche (14%) et les nouvelles technologies (11%).