The international process

The 2030 Agenda was adopted in New York after three years of negotiations. © FDFA

The international community adopted the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development  on 25 September 2015. Between 2012 and 2015, Switzerland was actively and successfully involved in the international drafting and negotiation process. The focus in all countries and regions of the world has now turned to implementation. States, the private sector, civil society organisations, the academic community and politicians are all called upon to contribute meaningfully to the Agenda's success.

Switzerland remains engaged at the international level, thus helping to shape events that will ensure that the 2030 Agenda becomes a reality. Its foreign policy strategy, international cooperation and sectoral foreign policies will all actively contribute to a successful outcome.

The UN is working over the coming years to reform the UN system so that it can provide efficient, effective support for the implementation of the 2030 Agenda. At the same time, the finer details of the global implementation mechanism, the High-Level Political Forum (HLPF), will continue be put in place, and frameworks for cooperation between UN agencies and other partners will be defined.

A new global partnership for sustainable development (SDG 17) is also to be established over the next few years. Efforts are currently ongoing to determine the responsibilities of international forums and actors, and to understand their contributions to the achievement of the SDGs. Certain UN regions are also examining the extent to which they can contribute to the global system for monitoring implementation, where possible on the basis of established mechanisms.

Internationaler Prozess

Plenarsaal der UNO in New York
Die Agenda 2030 wurde nach 3 Jahren Verhandlungen in New York verabschiedet. © EDA

Am 25. September 2015 verabschiedete die internationale Staatengemeinschaft in New York die Agenda 2030 für nachhaltige Entwicklung. Die Schweiz hat sich von 2012 bis 2015 aktiv und erfolgreich am internationalen Ausarbeitungs- und Verhandlungsprozess beteiligt. Nun geht es in allen Ländern und Regionen der Welt an die Umsetzung. Die Staaten, die Privatwirtschaft, zivilgesellschaftliche Organisationen, die Wissenschaft und die Politik sind gefragt, substanzielle Beiträge zur erfolgreichen Umsetzung zu leisten.

Die Schweiz bleibt weiterhin auf internationaler Ebene engagiert und prägt dadurch das Geschehen zur erfolgreichen Umsetzung der Agenda 2030 mit. Mit ihrer aussenpolitischen Strategie, der internationalen Zusammenarbeit sowie ihren sektoriellen Aussenpolitiken trägt sie aktiv zum Gelingen bei.

Die UNO  erarbeitet in den kommenden Jahren Reformen, die es dem UNO-System erlauben werden, die Umsetzung der Agenda 2030 effizient und wirksam zu unterstützen. Gleichzeitig werden die Funktionsweise des globalen Umsetzungsmechanismus, dem Hochrangigen Politischen Forum für Nachhaltige Entwicklung (HLPF), weiter konkretisiert sowie Mechanismen zur Zusammenarbeit zwischen den UNO-Agenturen und anderen Partnern definiert.

In den kommenden Jahren soll auch die neue globale Partnerschaft für nachhaltige Entwicklung (SDG 17) gelebt und etabliert werden. Dafür werden Zuständigkeiten internationaler Foren und Akteure geklärt sowie deren Beiträge zur Erreichung der SDGs nachvollzogen. Die einzelnen UNO-Regionen analysieren, inwiefern sie - möglichst auf Grundlage bereits etablierter Mechanismen - zur globalen Überprüfung der Umsetzung beitragen können.