Switzerland's commitment

By adopting the 2030 Agenda, all states declared their willingness to join forces to achieve the 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) by 2030, with each country making an appropriate contribution to their implementation at both national and international level.

The Federal Council attaches great importance to the 2030 Agenda. Although it is not binding under international law, it is the Federal Council's intention to see it implemented both in Switzerland and globally. Specifically, the objectives are to be achieved via existing instruments and policies, such as the Sustainable Development Strategy, the Dispatch on Switzerland's International Cooperation 2017-20, and via existing national and international sectoral policies, including the related bilateral and multilateral conventions.

Following the adoption of the 2030 Agenda in September 2015, the Federal Council determined the next steps in the process. One of the key tasks is to determine where Switzerland currently stands on progress towards the SDGs, and where action must be taken before 2030. The Federal Council would like to see a concerted effort on the part of the federal government, the cantons, the communes and non-governmental actors to reconcile the gaps that exist at present, and to tackle them effectively. In addition, the federal government's MONET system of indicators, which is used to monitor sustainable development, is to be expanded so that it can also track progress with the SDGs.

In early 2018 the Federal Council will publish a progress report and decide how to proceed in the years ahead.

Engagement de la Suisse

En adoptant l’Agenda 2030, les États se sont déclarés prêts à atteindre conjointement les 17 objectifs de développement durable (ODD) d’ici à 2030, grâce à une contribution adéquate de chacun à la mise en œuvre de l’agenda aux niveaux national et international.

Le Conseil fédéral accorde une haute importance à l’Agenda 2030. Bien que celui-ci ne soit pas un instrument contraignant en droit international public, le Conseil fédéral entend s'engager pour le mettre en œuvre aux niveaux national et international. La mise en œuvre de l’Agenda 2030 se fondera en particulier sur les instruments et les politiques en vigueur, dont la Stratégie pour le développement durable, le Message sur la coopération internationale de la Suisse 2017-2020, ainsi que sur les politiques sectorielles nationales et internationales et leurs accords bilatéraux et multilatéraux

Après l’adoption de l’Agenda 2030 en septembre 2015, le Conseil fédéral a fixé les prochaines étapes en vue de sa mise en œuvre. Une étape centrale consiste à analyser le degré de réalisation des ODD en Suisse et d’identifier les actions à entreprendre pour les atteindre d’ici à 2030. La collaboration entre la Confédération, les cantons, les communes et les acteurs non étatiques sera renforcée dans le but d’identifier les lacunes dans la réalisation des objectifs et les moyens à engager pour les combler. Enfin, il est prévu d’étendre le système fédéral d’indicateurs du développement durable (MONET) de manière à pouvoir observer les progrès accomplis.

Début 2018, le Conseil fédéral publiera un rapport sur le degré de réalisation des objectifs et décidera de la suite de la procédure.