The Sustainable Development Strategy

Switzerland has enshrined sustainable development in its constitution as a binding objective for all levels of government. The Federal Council’s Sustainable Development Strategy sets out its medium to long-term policy priorities in this area.

The Sustainable Development Strategy provides a roadmap for the direction in which Switzerland should continue to develop in certain key areas. It forms part of the broader legislative planning process. The revised version for the 2016–2019 period was adopted on 27 January 2016. The Strategy represents the target scenario for sustainable development and comprises a long-term vision and a set of goals for 2030.

The 2030 Agenda provides a reference framework for the new Sustainable Development Strategy. Indeed, the Strategy already incorporates many of the requirements of the SDGs. In the longer term, the aim is to gear the Strategy as closely as possible to the 2030 Agenda.

Stratégie pour le développement durable

La Suisse a élevé le développement durable au rang de mandat constitutionnel qui engage tous les niveaux de l’État. Dans la Stratégie pour le développement durable , le Conseil fédéral présente les priorités politiques qu’il établit en la matière pour le moyen et le long terme.

La Stratégie pour le développement durable est un cadre d’orientation qui montre, pour les principaux secteurs pertinents, dans quelle direction la Suisse doit évoluer. Inscrite dans le Programme de la législature, elle a été adoptée dans sa nouvelle version le 27 janvier 2016 pour les années 2016 à 2019. Elle contient un cadre d’objectifs thématiques constitués d’une vision à long terme et d’objectifs concrets pour 2030.

L’Agenda 2030 constitue un cadre de référence pour la nouvelle Stratégie pour le développement durable. Aujourd’hui déjà, de nombreuses exigences des ODD sont ancrées dans des domaines thématiques centraux de la stratégie. À long terme, il faut tendre à aligner le plus possible la stratégie sur l’Agenda 2030.