

Schweizerische Eidgenossenschaft Confédération suisse Confederazione Svizzera Confederaziun svizra

Federal Department of Foreign Affairs FDFA

0.621.0-50 0.621.0.52-SÜDAF – SACU 1 / 08

Notification to the Parties and Signatories to the Agricultural Agreement between the South African Customs Union States (SACU) and Switzerland concluded in Geneva, Gaborone and Pretoria on 1 July, 14 July and 7 August 2006

I. Ratification by the Republic of Namibia

On 11 January 2008, the Republic of Namibia deposited its instrument of ratification of the Agricultural Agreement between the SACU States and Switzerland, concluded in Geneva, Gaborone and Pretoria on 1 July, 14 July and 7 August 2006.

II. Ratification by the Kingdom of Swaziland

On 17 January 2008, the Kingdom of Swaziland deposited its instrument of ratification of the Agricultural Agreement between the SACU States and Switzerland, concluded in Geneva, Gaborone and Pretoria on 1 July, 14 July and 7 August 2006.

III. Ratification by the Kingdom of Lesotho

On 11 March 2008, the Kingdom of Lesotho deposited its instrument of ratification of the Agricultural Agreement between the SACU States and Switzerland, concluded in Geneva, Gaborone and Pretoria on 1 July, 14 July and 7 August 2006.

IV. Ratification by the Republic of Botswana

On 31 March 2008, the Republic of Botswana deposited its instrument of ratification of the Agricultural Agreement between the SACU States and Switzerland, concluded in Geneva, Gaborone and Pretoria on 1 July, 14 July and 7 August 2006.

V. Entry into force of the Agreement

According to Article 8 paragraph 1 of the Agreement, the Republic of South Africa, the Republic of Namibia, the Kingdom of Swaziland, the Kingdom of Lesotho, the Republic of Botswana and Switzerland deposited their instrument of ratification.

According to its Article 8 paragraph 2, the Agreement shall enter into force on the same date as the Free Trade Agreement between the EFTA States and the SACU States, signed at Höfn on 26 June 2006, at Geneva on 1 July 2006, at Gaborone on 14 July and at Pretoria on 7 August 2006.

On 7 April 2008, the Royal Minister of Foreign Affairs of Norway, acting on behalf of its Government in its capacity as Depositary, notified that the Free Trade Agreement will enter into force on 1st May 2008.

The Agricultural Agreement between the SACU States and Switzerland, concluded in Geneva, Gaborone and Pretoria on 1 July, 14 July and 7 August 2006 will therefore enter into force on 1st May 2008.

The Swiss Federal Council makes the present notification in its capacity as Depositary (<u>www.eda.admin.ch/depositary</u>) of the Agreement, according to its article 8 paragraph 3.

Berne, 11 April 2008

