Outsourcing process

All residents of South Africa, Lesotho and Swaziland are kindly asked to submit their Schengen Visa applications to TLScontact (+27 12 472 38 01).


Information for Entry to Switzerland (e.g. Visa obligation)

If you are planning a journey to Switzerland, expecting a visit from abroad or would like to invite vistors from abroad to Switzerland, the information obtainable from the website of the State Secretariat of Migration SEM could be of help to you.

Capture of of biometric data

All diplomatic representations of the Schengen member states in South Africa have to capture the biometric data (finger scans and facial image) of persons applying for a Schengen visa. The data will be kept in the Visa Information System (VIS) for 5 years. 

Visa Information System (VIS)

If no scan of your fingerprints has been captured yet, personal appearance when applying for a Schengen visa is mandatory.

If you have been issued a Schengen visa that included biometric data capture (fingerprints and facial image) you are not required to recapture your biometric data and personal appearance is not necessary. However, all of the following requirements have to be met in order to be exempt of the biometric data capture:

  • You have a copy of your previous Schengen visa, and
  • your biometric data was captured within the last 59 months.

Personal appearance and fingerprint scan is not necessary for children under the age of 12.

However, you have to provide a copy of your visa sticker. If you are not sure or do not remember whether your fingerprints have been captured for a Schengen visa within the last 59 months, you have to appear in person. 

The Swiss representation reserves the right to ask the applicant to appear in person if the quality of previously captured fingerprints is insufficient or if a personal interview is required.

Visa Information for South African citizens travelling to the Slovak Republic

The Consulate General of Switzerland in Cape Town represents the Slovak Republic for the issuance of short-term Schengen Visa for South African passport holders domiciled in the Eastern, Northern and Western Cape Provinces only.

Please note that the same requirements, application forms and instructions as for Switzerland will apply. Please submit supporting documents in English.

Application files are handled by TLScontact and have to be submitted directly to TLScontact (+27 12 472 38 01)