Cooperation in the field of drugs and drug addiction

Since 12 September 2017 Switzerland has been working more closely with the European Monitoring Centre for Drugs and Drug Addiction (EMCDDA). The directors of the Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH) and of the EMCDDA have signed a working arrangement to this effect.

The EMCDDA compiles reliable and Europe-wide comparable information concerning drugs, drug addiction and their consequences. This data is then available to the EU and its member states as a basis for policymaking and initiatives on finding solutions to problems regarding drugs and drug abuse.

Switzerland participates on the basis of this working arrangement with the EMCDDA network. It thus benefits from direct access to this specialised European network, and Swiss researchers have facilitated access to European know-how and research projects. Such cross-border exchange is an important mechanism for better assessing emerging trends in the drugs situation. In particular, one area of mutual interest is Switzerland's participation in the EMCDDA's early warning system on new psychoactive substances. Increased exchange of information on drug use and on ways the penal system deals with offenders is also of interest.

This working arrangement is not legally binding, and Switzerland is therefore not formally a member of the EMCDDA. However, it gives Swiss experts the opportunity to participate in the EMCDDA's thematic working groups.

Chronology

  • 12.09.2017: Signing of a non-legally binding working arrangement on cooperation between authorities at the technical level.

Status October 2019

Additional information

Coopération dans le domaine des drogues et des toxicomanies

Depuis le 12 septembre 2017, la Suisse collabore étroitement avec l’Observatoire européen des drogues et des toxicomanies (OEDT). Les directeurs de l’Office fédéral de la santé publique (OFSP) et de l’OEDT ont signé une convention à cette fin.

L’Observatoire européen des drogues et des toxicomanies produit des informations fiables et comparables, à l’échelle européenne, sur les drogues et les toxicomanies, ainsi que sur leurs conséquences. Grâce à ces informations, l’UE et les États membres disposent d’une base pour prendre des décisions politiques et des initiatives afin de remédier aux problèmes liés à la drogue.

La Suisse participe aux activités du réseau de l’OEDT sur la base de la convention signée (« arrangement de travail »). Elle bénéficie ainsi d’un accès direct au réseau d'experts européens et les chercheurs suisses peuvent accéder plus facilement au savoir et aux projets de recherche européens. Cet échange transfrontalier est précieux pour mieux anticiper les évolutions dans le domaine des drogues. Les deux parties sont tout particulièrement intéressées par une participation de la Suisse au système d’alerte précoce de l’OEDT sur les nouvelles substances psychoactives. Elles cherchent également à renforcer leurs échanges en matière d’exécution des peines et de consommation de drogue.

Cet accord n’est pas contraignant sur le plan juridique et la Suisse ne devient pas un membre officiel de l’OEDT. Il permet cependant aux experts suisses de participer aux groupes de travail thématiques de l’observatoire.

Chronologie

  • 12.9.2017 : signature d’un arrangement non contraignant sur le plan juridique afin de faciliter la coopération des autorités sur le plan technique.

Etat du dossier: Septembre 2018

Informations supplémentaires