Eurodac – access for law enforcement authorities

 Illuminated fingerprint on a dark-coloured glass plate.
Fingerprinting, or dactyloscopy (the technique of examining fingerprints in order to identify individuals). © George Prentzas

The Eurodac database contains the fingerprints of persons applying for asylum in a Dublin state or caught entering the country illegally. The Swiss law enforcement authorities do not yet have access to this data. In order to improve Switzerland's internal security, the Federal Council intends to give the law enforcement authorities access to the Eurodac database, subject to certain conditions.

Switzerland and the EU concluded negotiations on Eurodac access for the Swiss law enforcement authorities at the end of 2017. The relevant protocol was signed on 27 June 2019. For it to come into force with legally binding effect, both parties now need to ratify the instrument. The Federal Council is expected to submit a bill to Parliament in November 2020. Once the protocol has been approved by Parliament, the Federal Council is expected to ratify it towards the middle of 2022.

Access for law enforcement authorities investigating serious offences

The Eurodac database, established in 2003, contains the fingerprints of persons claiming asylum in a Dublin State or caught entering the country illegally. The system allows Dublin states to check whether asylum seekers have submitted an asylum application in another Dublin state or if they have entered via a safe third country. Access was previously restricted to parties requiring data on asylum seekers. The information was not made available to national law enforcement authorities. This situation changed in 2015, when the EU Eurodac Regulation, as amended, came into force. The Regulation specifically gives law enforcement authorities the right to access Eurodac, subject to strict conditions. For example, the law enforcement authorities may only access Eurodac if the following databases have previously returned a negative result:

  • National fingerprint and DNA databases
  • Databases under the Prüm police cooperation scheme
  • Visa Information System (VIS) for Schengen States

In addition, accessing Eurodac is only permitted for the purposes of investigating suspected terrorism or other serious criminal offences, but not lesser crimes (misdemeanours). Fingerprints may also only be compared for specific cases. Systematic comparisons may not be carried out.

The new provisions of the Eurodac Regulation granting access to the law enforcement authorities do not constitute a further development of the Dublin acquis. As a result, they do not automatically apply to Switzerland. In order to participate, Switzerland was therefore required to sign the protocol on 27 June 2019.

Effectively tackling cross-border crime

Database access is essential in enabling the Swiss law enforcement authorities to fight organised crime and terrorism. Access to European databases is particularly important in order to combat cross-border crime effectively, as evidenced by the Visa Information System (VIS), which the law enforcement authorities have been able to access since 2008.  This is why the Federal Council wanted to agree a protocol with the EU that allows the Swiss law enforcement authorities to access Eurodac data. In return, the law enforcement authorities in European partner countries will also be able to access Swiss data stored on Eurodac.

Countries seeking Eurodac access must participate in the Prümer police cooperation scheme, which requires EU member states, Norway and Iceland to maintain various police DNA and fingerprint databases. The agreement on Switzerland's participation in the Prüm police cooperation scheme was also signed on 27 June 2019. As with the Eurodac protocol, both parties must ratify the agreement before it can come into force. Further information is available in the 'Prüm' factsheet.

Chronology

  • Mid-2022 protocol expected to be ratified
  • 27.06.2019 protocol signed by Switzerland and the EU
  • 21.09.2016    Start of negotiations

Eurodac - Accès pour les autorités de poursuite pénale

Empreinte digitale
La comparaison des empreintes digitales, la dactyloscopie (du grec « observation des doigts »), permet d’identifier des personnes. © José Luís Agapito

Dans la banque de données Eurodac sont enregistrées les empreintes digitales des personnes qui déposent une demande d’asile dans les États Dublin ou qui sont appréhendées alors qu’elles tentent d’entrer illégalement dans l’espace Dublin. Les autorités suisses de poursuite pénale n’ont pas encore accès à ces données. Afin d’accroître la sécurité intérieure de la Suisse, le Conseil fédéral veut permettre aux autorités de poursuite pénale d’accéder, sous certaines conditions, à la banque de données Eurodac.  

Fin 2017, la Suisse et l’UE ont terminé leurs négociations sur l’accès des autorités suisses de poursuite pénale à la banque de données Eurodac. Le protocole correspondant a été signé le 27 juin 2019. Pour qu’il puisse entrer en vigueur et être juridiquement contraignant, il doit encore être ratifié par les deux parties. À cette fin, en novembre 2020 le Conseil fédéral doit soumettre au Parlement un message portant approbation du protocole. Il pourra le ratifier dès que les Chambres auront donné leur feu vert, probablement mi-2022.

Accès des autorités de poursuite pénale en cas d’infractions graves

Depuis 2003, les empreintes digitales des personnes qui déposent une demande d’asile dans les États Dublin ou qui sont appréhendées alors qu’elles tentent d’entrer illégalement dans l’espace Dublin sont enregistrées dans la banque de données Eurodac. Les États Dublin peuvent ainsi vérifier si une personne a déjà déposé une demande d’asile dans un autre pays ou si elle est arrivée sur leur territoire après avoir transité par un pays tiers sûr. L’accès à ces données était, jusqu’à présent, limité au domaine de l’asile, les autorités de poursuite pénale en étaient exclues. Cela a changé en 2015 après l’entrée en vigueur du règlement Eurodac révisé. Le nouveau texte prévoit explicitement l’accès des autorités de poursuite pénale aux données, mais le soumet à des conditions strictes. Avant toute vérification dans le fichier Eurodac, elles doivent avoir consulté sans résultat les banques de données ci-après:

  • fichiers nationaux d’empreintes digitales et d’analyse ADN,
  • banques de données mises en place dans le cadre de la coopération policière Prüm
  • banque de données du système d’information sur les visas Schengen (VIS)

Par ailleurs, la banque de données Eurodac peut être consultée aux seules fins de la prévention et de la détection d’infractions pénales graves, ou en cas de soupçon de terrorisme, mais pas pour des délits mineurs. Par ailleurs, une telle vérification ne peut avoir lieu que dans des cas particuliers; les consultations systématiques n’étant pas autorisées.

Les nouvelles dispositions du règlement Eurodac relatives à l’accès des autorités de poursuite pénale aux données ne constituent pas un développement de l’acquis de Dublin et ne s’appliquent donc pas automatiquement à la Suisse. Pour pouvoir participer à ce système, cette dernière a donc signé le protocole le 27 juin 2019.

Combattre efficacement la criminalité transfrontalière

L’accès à des banques de données constitue pour les autorités suisses de poursuite pénale un important moyen de lutte contre la criminalité organisée et le terrorisme. L’accès aux banques de données européennes est essentiel pour lutter en particulier contre la criminalité transfrontalière. Ce constat s’est déjà vérifié pour le système d’information sur les visas (VIS), auquel les autorités de poursuite pénale ont accès depuis 2008. C’est pourquoi le Conseil fédéral a souhaité conclure avec l’UE un protocole qui assure l’accès des autorités suisses de poursuite pénale aux données Eurodac et permet, en contrepartie, aux autorités répressives des pays partenaires européens de consulter les données Eurodac enregistrées par la Suisse.

L’accès à la banque de données Eurodac est soumis à la participation de la Suisse à la coopération policière Prüm. Dans le cadre de la coopération policière Prüm, les États membres de l’UE ainsi que la Norvège et l’Islande gèrent divers fichiers policiers d’analyse ADN et d’empreintes digitales. L’accord sur la participation de la Suisse à la coopération policière Prüm a été signé le 27 juin 2019. Tout comme pour le protocole Eurodac, les deux parties doivent encore ratifier l’accord afin qu’il puisse entrer en vigueur. Vous trouverez de plus amples informations à ce sujet dans la fiche d’information « Prüm ».

Chronologie

  • Mi-2022        Probable ratification du protocole
  • 27.06.2019   Signature du protocole par la Suisse et l’UE
  • 21.09.2016       Début des négociations