Federal Administration admin.ch
Federal Department of Foreign Affairs

Navigation

Main navigation

Sub navigation

Further information

Quick search

You are here:

Bilateral relations between Switzerland and Germany

Switzerland and Germany maintain close and intensive relations in all areas which provide a broad and solid foundation upon which to build cooperation.

Key aspects of diplomatic relations

Political relations between Switzerland and Germany are based on over 200 agreements, and are traditionally good. At national level, numerous meetings are held every year at ministerial and high-official level, and these are supplemented by the annual meetings of the presidents and ministries from the four German-speaking states (DE, AT, CH, LI). Since 2003 contact between the Swiss parliament and the German Bundestag has been on an institutionalised footing.

The state treaty on the northern flight approaches to Zurich Airport was signed by Federal Councillor Doris Leuthard and the German minister of transport Peter Ramsauer in Bern on 4 September 2012. The Council of States ratified the treaty on 7 March 2013 followed by the National Council on 6 June 2013.

On 21 September 2011, the finance ministers of the two countries, Wolfgang Schäuble and Eveline Widmer-Schlumpf, signed a taxation agreement in Berlin that provided for the implementation of fiscal claims made by the German authorities by means of a withholding tax and guaranteed the protection of the private sphere of bank customers in accordance with Swiss legislation. The German Bundesrat (the chamber representing the German federal states) voted against the agreement which resulted in the breakdown of the ratification process in Germany and meant that the agreement could not enter into force.

The organisation of cross-border cooperation is primarily a cantonal responsibility. Cooperation in this area is particularly close in the regions of the Upper Rhine (Basel region) and Lake Constance. Around 55,000 German cross-border commuters worked in Switzerland at the end of 2012.

Since 2007 Switzerland has been the most popular emigration destination for Germans: more than 275,000 Germans were living in Switzerland in 2011.

Economic cooperation

Germany is Switzerland’s most important trading partner. Germany is the market leader in the Swiss import market: one third of all Swiss imports originate from Germany. This is more than the imports from Italy, France, the USA and the United Kingdom together. Trading volumes (imports and exports) have now recovered from the crisis of 2009, and in 2012 amounted to approximately EUR 96.7 billion.

With direct investments of CHF 54.6 billion at the end of 2011, Switzerland is the seventh largest foreign investor in Germany. Swiss companies employ around 357,000 people in Germany. In geographic terms, the majority of Swiss direct investment is in the south of the country. Germany is the sixth most important country of origin for direct investments in Switzerland with a portfolio of CHF 28.2 billion at the end of 2011; German companies employ approx. 100,000 people in Switzerland.

Cooperation in the field of education

Alongside EU research and education programmes, there are numerous bilateral cooperation and exchange programmes. The State Secretariat for Education, Research and Innovation (SERI) awards Swiss Government Excellence Scholarships for scholars and artists from Germany.

Swiss nationals in Germany

The number of Swiss nationals resident in Germany has increased in recent years. At the end of 2012, there were 80,715 Swiss nationals living in Germany.

Cultural exchange

The shared language has given rise to a long tradition of close cultural ties between the two countries. The extensive cultural exchange between Switzerland and Germany helps promote cultural activity in all parts of the country. The Competence Centre for Cultural Foreign Policy promotes various projects in Germany.

History of bilateral relations

The fall of the Berlin Wall in 1989 and reunification in 1990 marked a historic turning point: the end of a divided Germany and the political division of Europe. After the Bundestag decided to relocate the seat of government and parliament to Berlin in June 1991, the Swiss consulate-general there was turned into an embassy office specialising in cultural matters. However, the embassy itself remained in Bonn until 1999, after which it relocated to the renovated building of the former legation in Berlin where it has been ever since.

Bundesverwaltung admin.ch
Eidgenössisches Departement für auswärtige Angelegenheiten

Navigation

Hauptnavigation

Subnavigation

Weitere Informationen

Schnellsuche

Sie befinden sich hier:

Bilaterale Beziehungen Schweiz – Deutschland

Die Schweiz und Deutschland unterhalten intensive Beziehungen in allen Bereichen, was ein breites und solides Fundament für die Gestaltung der Zusammenarbeit schafft.

Schwerpunkte der diplomatischen Beziehungen

Die politischen Beziehungen der Schweiz mit Deutschland sind traditionell gut. Sie basieren auf einem über 200 Abkommen umfassenden Vertragswerk. Auf nationaler Ebene finden jährlich zahlreiche Treffen auf Minister- und hoher Beamtenebene statt. Ergänzt werden sie mit jährlichen Treffen von Präsidenten und Fachministerien der vier deutschsprachigen Staaten (DE, AT, CH, FL). Seit 2003 besteht ein institutionalisierter Kontakt zwischen der Schweizer Bundesversammlung und dem Deutschen Bundestag.

Der Staatsvertrag zu den Nordanflügen auf den Flughafen Zürich wurde am 4. September 2012 durch Bundesrätin Doris Leuthard und Bundesverkehrsminister Peter Ramsauer in Bern unterzeichnet. Am 7. März 2013 hat der Ständerat den Staatsvertrag genehmigt, gefolgt vom Nationalrat am 6.6.2013.

Am 21.9.2011 unterzeichneten die Finanzminister beider Staaten, Wolfgang Schäuble und Eveline Widmer-Schlumpf in Berlin ein Steuerabkommen, welches mittels einer Abgeltungssteuer die Durchsetzung Steueransprüche deutscher Behörden bei gleichzeitiger Wahrung des in der Schweiz geltenden Schutzes der Privatsphäre von Bankkunden vorsah. Der Deutsche Bundesrat (Vertretung der Bundesländer) stimmte gegen das Abkommen, weshalb der Ratifikationsprozess in Deutschland scheiterte und das Abkommen nicht in Kraft treten konnte.

Die Ausgestaltung der grenznahen Zusammenarbeit fällt in erster Linie in die Kompetenz der Kantone und ist vor allem in den Regionen des Oberrheins (Region Basel) und des Bodensees eng. Rund 55’000 deutsche Grenzgänger hatten Ende 2012 ihren Arbeitsplatz in der Schweiz.

Die Schweiz ist seit 2007 das beliebteste Auswanderungsland für Deutsche. 2011 lebten über 275’000 deutsche Staatsangehörige in der Schweiz.

Wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit

Deutschland ist der wichtigste Handelspartner der Schweiz. So ist Deutschland Marktführer auf dem Schweizer Importmarkt: Ein Drittel aller Importe stammt aus Deutschland, mehr als die Einfuhren aus Italien, Frankreich, den USA und den Vereinigten Königreich zusammen. Das Handelsvolumen (Importe und Exporte) hat sich seit dem Krisenjahr 2009 erholt und betrug 2012 rund 96.7 Mrd. EUR.

Mit einem Gesamtbestand von 54.6 Mrd. CHF Ende 2011 steht die Schweiz unter den ausländischen Investoren an siebter Stelle. Schweizer Firmen beschäftigen in Deutschland rund 357’000 Personen. Geographisch liegt das Schwergewicht der schweizerischen Direktinvestitionen im süddeutschen Raum. Deutschland ist das sechstwichtigste Herkunftsland von Direktinvestitionen in der Schweiz mit einem Bestand von 28.2 Mrd. CHF Ende 2011. Deutsche Firmenbeschäftigen rund 100’000 Personen in der Schweiz.

Zusammenarbeit im Bildungsbereich

Neben den Forschungs- und Bildungsprogrammen der EU bestehen zahlreiche bilaterale Zusammenarbeits- und Austauschabkommen. Das Staatssekretariat für Bildung, Forschung und Innovation (SBFI) vergibt Bundes-Exzellenz-Stipendien für Forschende und Kunstschaffende aus Deutschland.

Schweizerinnen und Schweizer in Deutschland

Die Zahl der Schweizer Staatsangehörigen in Deutschland hat in den letzten Jahren zugenommen. Ende 2012 lebten 80’715 Schweizerinnen und Schweizer in Deutschland.

Kulturaustausch

Die engen kulturellen Beziehungen zwischen den beiden Ländern haben eine lange Tradition und basieren auf der gemeinsamen Sprache. Der Austausch von Schweizer Kulturschaffenden mit dem deutschen Kulturraum ist bedeutend und befruchtet das Kulturschaffen in allen Landesteilen. Das Kompetenzzentrum für Kulturaussenpolitik fördert Projekte fördert verschiedene Projekte in Deutschland.

Geschichte der bilateralen Beziehungen

Der Fall der Berliner Mauer 1989 und die Wiedervereinigung 1990 markierten einen Wendepunkt in der Geschichte: Das Ende der Teilung des Landes und der politischen Spaltung Europas. Nachdem der Bundestag im Juni 1991 die Verlegung des Regierungssitzes und des Parlaments nach Berlin beschlossen hatte, wandelte sich das dortige Schweizer Generalkonsulat zu einer Aussenstelle der Botschaft. Sie spezialisierte sich auf kulturelle Fragen. Die Botschaft blieb bis1999 in Bonn und befindet sich seither im restaurierten Gebäude der früheren Gesandtschaft in Berlin.