The Geneva centres

The ‘Maison de la paix’ in Geneva houses Switzerland’s three peace and security policy centres.
The ‘Maison de la paix’ in Geneva houses the Swiss government’s three peace and security policy centres. © Keystone/Martial Trezzini

Since 2014, Switzerland has had an internationally recognised centre of expertise for foreign, security and peace policy, known as the ‘Maison de la paix’. It is located in Geneva. Specifically, the ‘Maison de la paix’ comprises the following three foundations: the Geneva Centre for Security Policy, the Geneva International Centre for Humanitarian Demining, and the Geneva Centre for the Democratic Control of Armed Forces.

Switzerland established the three Geneva centres as internationally supported foundations between 1995 and 2000. This step strengthened the position of International Geneva as a hub of peace and security policy. The FDFA coordinates the Swiss government’s activities with the centres and promotes Switzerland’s peace and security policy interests through its strategic orientation. The FDFA’s Human Security Division chairs the interdepartmental steering committee. Swiss Parliament determines the framework credit for the Geneva centres on a four-yearly basis.