Bilateral relations Switzerland–Lesotho

Lesotho is a small, landlocked, mountainous kingdom completely surrounded by South Africa. The Swiss Agency for Cooperation and Development (SDC) is active in Lesotho within the framework of its Regional Programme for Southern Africa, which focuses on food security and HIV/AIDS. The country is proud to call itself the “Switzerland of southern Africa”, and highlights its potential as a tourist destination. For this reason, Switzerland has a good reputation, one that goes beyond the impact of official relations.

Key aspects of diplomatic relations

High-level contacts take place very rarely. An official delegation from Lesotho (minister of local government) visited Switzerland in 2009. The Swiss ambassador, who resides in Pretoria, is accredited to the king of Lesotho, while the ambassador of Lesotho in Geneva is accredited to the Federal Council.

Bilateral treaties

Economic cooperation

Direct trade between the two countries is modest because Swiss products consumed in Lesotho are imported via South Africa. A free-trade agreement between the European Free Trade Association and the Southern African Customs Union, which is made up of Lesotho, Botswana, Namibia, Swaziland and South Africa, entered into force in 2008.

Trade support (Switzerland Global Enterprise)

Cooperation in the domain of education and training

Scholars and artists from Lesotho can apply to the State Secretariat for Education, Research and Innovation (SERI) for Swiss Government Excellence Scholarships.

Swiss Government Excellence Scholarships

Promotion of peace and human security

Switzerland contributes to the strengthening of electoral and democratic processes within the Southern African Development Community (SADC), which includes Lesotho.

Development cooperation

Within the framework of the Regional Programme for Southern Africa of the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation, Switzerland supports projects in the areas of food security and HIV/AIDS. Support is focused specifically on orphans and young people affected by HIV/AIDS in order to improve protection for them through preventive and psychosocial assistance activities. Support is also targeted at farmers whose production has become more erratic owing to climate change but who must produce more than is needed for a subsistence existence. Lesotho benefits both directly and indirectly from these programmes.

Development cooperation and humanitarian aid

Swiss nationals in Lesotho

At the end of 2015, there were 13 Swiss nationals living in Lesotho.

History of bilateral relations

Relations between Switzerland and Lesotho were established by Protestant missionaries, who settled in Morija from 1859 onwards, at the mission set up by the Frenchman Eugène Casalis, who was also counsellor to King Moshoeshoe, founder of the Basotho nation.

The Federal Council recognised Lesotho’s independence on 4 October 1966 and established diplomatic relations with the country in 1967. The local SDC office was closed in 2005.

Entry in the Historical Dictionary of Switzerland (de, fr, it)

Relations bilatérales Suisse–Lesotho

La coopération suisse au développement intervient au Lesotho, petit royaume montagnard enclavé par l’Afrique du Sud, dans le cadre de ses programmes régionaux de coopération dans les domaines de la sécurité alimentaire et du VIH/sida en Afrique australe. Le fait que le pays se présente volontiers comme «la Suisse de l’Afrique australe» en mettant en avant ses ressources touristiques, confère à la Suisse une réputation favorable et une notoriété dépassant l’impact des relations officielles.

Points clés des relations diplomatiques

Les contacts à haut niveau sont très rares. Une délégation officielle du Lesotho (ministre des gouvernements locaux) a visité la Suisse en 2009.

L’ambassadeur de Suisse résidant à Pretoria est accrédité auprès du roi du Lesotho, tandis que celui du Lesotho à Genève l’est auprès du Conseil fédéral.

Traités bilatéraux

Coopération économique

Les échanges commerciaux directs entre les deux pays sont modestes, car les produits suisses consommés au Lesotho sont importés via l’Afrique du Sud. En 2008 un accord de libre-échange entre l’Association européenne de libre-échange (AELE) et les pays de l’Union douanière de l'Afrique australe (SACU), qui comprend le Lesotho, le Botswana, la Namibie, le Swaziland et l’Afrique du Sud, est entré en vigueur.

Soutien commercial (Switzerland Global Enterprise)

Coopération dans le domaine de l’éducation et de la formation

Les chercheurs et artistes du Lesotho peuvent déposer leur dossier de candidature auprès du Secrétariat d’État à la formation, à la recherche et à l’innovation (SEFRI) pour obtenir des bourses d’excellence de la Confédération suisse.

Bourses d’études universitaires de la Confédération suisse

Promotion de la paix et de la sécurité humaine

La Suisse contribue au renforcement des processus électoral et démocratique dans les pays de la Communauté de Développement d’Afrique Australe (Southern African Development Community, SADC), dont le Lesotho fait partie.

Coopération au développement

Dans le cadre du Programme régional pour l’Afrique australe (RPSA) de la Direction du développement et de la coopération (DDC), la Suisse soutient des projets dans les domaines de la sécurité alimentaire et du VIH/SIDA. Ce soutien est concentré spécifiquement sur les orphelins et les jeunes affectés par le VIH/SIDA afin de leur assurer une meilleure protection par des activités de prévention et d’assistance psychosociale, de même que sur les agriculteurs dont la production est devenue plus erratique du fait des changements climatiques et doit aller plus loin que le seuil de l’autoconsommation. Le Lesotho fait partie des pays qui bénéficient de ces projets, que ce soit directement ou indirectement.

Coopération au développement et aide humanitaire

Les Suissesses et les Suisses au Lesotho

Fin 2015, 13 Suisses et Suissesses vivaient au Lesotho.

Historique des relations bilatérales

Les relations entre la Suisse et le Lesotho ont été incarnées par les missionnaires protestants, établis depuis 1859 à Morija, dans la station fondée par le Français Eugène Casalis qui fut aussi conseiller du roi Moshoeshoe, le rassembleur de la nation basotho.

Le Conseil fédéral a reconnu l'indépendance du Lesotho le 4 octobre 1966 et établi des relations diplomatiques dès 1967. L’antenne locale de la DDC a été fermée en 2005.

Entrée dans le Dictionnaire historique de la Suisse