Federal Department of Foreign Affairs

Navigation

Main navigation

Sub navigation

Further information

Quick search

You are here:

Bilateral relations between Switzerland and Egypt

Relations between Switzerland and Egypt have a long tradition. Egypt has always played a pivotal role in Swiss trade with the Middle East and Africa. A trade mission was opened as long ago as 1909.
Traditionally good relations
Switzerland was the venue for important steps on Egypt’s road to independence. A peace conference was held in Lausanne in 1923, for example, at which the Turkish Republic relinquished all its rights vis-à-vis Egypt. Switzerland recognized Egypt’s independence in 1924, signing a treaty of friendship ten years later. Switzerland opened a representative office in Cairo in 1935. In 1945 this was superseded by a legation, which was upgraded to an embassy in 1957. Because of its neutrality, Switzerland has in the past represented the interests of a number of states in Egypt. These include Italy, Bulgaria and Romania during the Second World War, and later France (1956-63), Belgium (1961-64), Turkey (1961-63), the United Kingdom (1956-59) and New Zealand (1956-59). Conversely, during the Second World War, Switzerland represented Egypt’s interests in Romania, Bulgaria, Finland and Japan. To this day Switzerland represents the interests of Iran in Egypt, as it has since 1979. In 1988 an arbitration tribunal in Geneva succeeded in resolving the problem of Taba, a left-over from the Israeli-Egyptian peace treaty of 1979.
Numerous agreements

Relations between the two countries are governed by a series of bilateral agreements, on the compensation of Swiss interest (1964), investment protection (1973), double taxation (1987), air transport (1995) and legal assistance (2000). Egypt has benefited from four mixed loans totalling CHF 330 million. It was relieved of part of this debt in 1995. The Egyptian-Swiss development fund, which was set up at the same time, is scheduled to terminate in 2009. The State Secretariat for Economic Affairs (seco) is involved in various bilateral and multilateral programmes to promote the Egyptian private sector. Cooperations exist in the fields of water resources and irrigation, the environment and healthcare. On 27 January 2007, Egypt and the European Free Trade Association (EFTA) signed a free-trade agreement, followed up by a new agreement on the protection and promotion of investments in 2012.

As a result of the revolution on 25 January 2011, Switzerland increased its support for Egypt, especially in the areas of transition to democracy, human rights, economic development, job creation and migration. A bilateral framework agreement on cooperation and humanitarian aid was signed in January 2013.

Administration fédérale admin.ch
Département fédéral des affaires étrangères

Navigation

Navigation principale

Navigation secondaire

Informations complémentaires

Recherche rapide

Vous êtes ici :

Relations bilatérales Suisse - Egypte

Les relations entre la Suisse et l'Egypte ont une longue tradition. L'Egypte a depuis toujours joué un rôle essentiel dans le commerce suisse avec le Proche-Orient et l'Afrique. En 1909 déjà, la Suisse y a ouvert une représentation commerciale.
Relations traditionnellement bonnes
La Suisse a participé à d'importantes étapes du chemin de l'Egypte vers l'indépendance. En 1923, Lausanne a accueilli une conférence de paix au cours de laquelle la République turque a renoncé à tous ses droits à l'égard de l'Egypte. Un an plus tard, la Suisse a reconnu l'indépendance de l'Egypte. Les deux pays ont signé un traité d'amitié en 1934. En 1935, la Suisse a ouvert au Caire une chancellerie qui a été transformée en mission en 1945 (pour devenir une ambassade en 1957). Grâce à sa neutralité, la Suisse a représenté pendant la Deuxième Guerre mondiale plusieurs Etats en Egypte dont l'Italie, la Roumanie et la Bulgarie, plus tard la France (1956-1963), la Belgique (1956-1959), la Turquie (1961-1963), la Grande-Bretagne (1956-1959) et la Nouvelle-Zélande (1956-1959). Inversement, elle a représenté durant la Deuxième Guerre mondiale les intérêts de l'Egypte en Roumanie, en Bulgarie, en Finlande et au Japon. Aujourd'hui, la Suisse représente encore les intérêts de l'Iran en Egypte (depuis 1979). En 1988, un tribunal arbitral a réglé à Genève le différend concernant Taba qui n'avait pas été résolu dans l'accord de paix israélo-égyptien de 1979.
Nombreux accords

Les relations entre les deux pays sont réglées par de nombreux accords bilatéraux: indemnisation des intérêts suisses (1964), protection des investissements (1973), double imposition (1987), transports aériens (1965), entraide judiciaire (2000). L'Egypte a bénéficié de quatre crédits mixtes d'un montant total de 330 millions de francs et d'une remise partielle de la dette en 1995. Les activités du fonds de développement égypto-suisse qui a été institué la même année se termineront en 2009. Le Secrétariat à l'économie (seco) encourage l'économie privée égyptienne par des programmes bilatéraux et multilatéraux. Des coopérations ont été mises en place dans le domaine hydraulique et de l'irrigation, dans la protection de l'environnement et la santé publique. Un accord de libre-échange entre l'Egypte et l'Association européenne de libre-échange (AELE) a été signé le 27 janvier 2007, suivi d’ un nouvel accord sur la protection et la promotion des investissements en 2012.

Suite à la révolution du 25 janvier 2011, la Suisse a augmenté son soutien à l’Egypte, et ceci dans les domaines de la transition démocratique, des droits humains, du développement économique, de la création d’emplois, ainsi que de la migration. Un accord bilatéral cadre sur la coopération et l’aide humanitaire a été signé en janvier 2013.