Overview

Shelves filled with books.
Education is a driver of innovation and is often regarded in Switzerland as the country's 'greatest commodity'. © Pixabay

The Swiss education system is split into three levels and in essence gives pupils and students the choice between two main channels: one based on an academic education, as in many other countries; the other vocational, leading directly to a qualification as a skilled worker.

The education system is split into three levels: primary, secondary and tertiary. Compulsory schooling comprises the primary level and the lower-secondary level, and is usually completed by the age of 15.

The upper-secondary level comprises basic vocational education and training (VET) or the general academic route. Basic VET is referred to as the 'dual' system, combining classroom education at a VET school and practical training in a firm. Two thirds of young people in Switzerland opt to pursue such an apprenticeship. The other third choose the academic route via a baccalaureate school or an upper-secondary specialised school to prepare for the tertiary level.

Professional vocational education and training (PET) and higher education institutions form the tertiary level in Switzerland. PET prepares students for a specific profession and also offers courses for experienced professionals who wish to undertake further training or specialise in their field. Universities of applied sciences, teacher training colleges, federal institutes of technology and universities offer a wide range of courses.

Education in Switzerland is mainly the responsibility of the cantons, which harmonised their school systems in 2009 under an education concordat. Despite this harmonisation, significant differences exist between the education systems of individual cantons. The federal authorities and the communes assume those tasks that cannot be reasonably resolved by the cantons. The education system thus reflects Switzerland's federal state structure.

Education – facts and figures

Over 44% of the Swiss population has a tertiary-level qualification. A varied and flexible education system provides the basis for this successful outcome.

Compulsory education

Children in Switzerland attend kindergarten from the age of four. This marks the start of their compulsory school education, which generally lasts 11 years and consists of primary and lower-secondary education.

Secondary schooling

Baccalaureate schools and upper-secondary specialised schools are general secondary schools that prepare young people for entry to higher education institutions/universities or higher vocational education.

Basic vocational education and training

The dual system, which combines learning in the workplace and in a vocational school, produces skilled workers with vocational qualifications that are actually in demand.

Universities and other higher education institutions

Higher education institutions in Switzerland follow the internationally accepted study model of bachelor, master and doctorate levels.

Higher vocational and professional education and training (PET)

A Swiss speciality – training courses for the specialisation and continuing education and training of professionals.

Übersicht

Mit Büchern gefülltes Regal.
Bildung ist ein Treiber für Innovation und wird in der Schweiz oft als «wichtigster Rohstoff» betrachtet. © Pixabay

Das Bildungssystem der Schweiz ist in drei Stufen unterteilt und gewährt den Schülerinnen und Schülern im Wesentlichen die Wahl zwischen zwei Königswegen. Der Eine beruht, wie in vielen anderen Ländern auch, auf einem schulischen Werdegang. Der Andere ist praxisbezogen und mündet direkt in einer Qualifikation als Fachkraft.

Das Bildungssystem ist dreigeteilt in Primar- Sekundar- und Tertiärstufe. Die Obligatorische Schule bildet die Primarstufe und einen ersten Teil der Sekundarstufe. Die Obligatorische Schule ist in der Regel mit dem 15. Altersjahr abgeschlossen.

Der zweite Teil der Sekundarstufe, die sogenannte Sekundarstufe II, bildet die berufliche Grundbildung oder allgemeinbildende Schulen. Die berufliche Grundbildung verläuft nach dem sogenannt dualen System, der Ausbildung an den Lernorten Berufsschule und Lernbetrieb. Zwei Drittel der Jugendlichen wählen diesen Weg, in der Schweiz «Lehre» genannt. Das andere Drittel wählt den Weg über ein Gymnasium oder eine Fachmittelschule und bereitet sich so auf die Tertiärstufe vor.

Die höhere Berufsbildung und die Hochschulen bilden die Tertiärstufe der Schweiz. Die höhere Berufsbildung bereitet direkt auf einen Beruf vor und bietet auch Lehrgänge für erfahrene Fachkräfte an, die sich in ihrem Berufsfeld fortbilden oder spezialisieren wollen. Fachhochschulen, Pädagogische und Eidgenössisch Technische Hochschulen und Universitäten bieten eine Vielzahl an verschiedenen Ausbildungsgängen an.

Bildung in der Schweiz ist hauptsächlich Sache der Kantone, die 2009 einem Bildungskonkordat ihre Schulsysteme harmonisiert haben. Trotz dieser Harmonisierung bestehen zwischen den Bildungssystemen einzelner Kantone wesentliche Unterschiede. Der Bund und die Gemeinden übernehmen Aufgaben, die nicht sinnvoll von den Kantonen gelöst werden können. Das Bildungssystem reflektiert somit die föderalistische Staatsstruktur der Schweiz.

Bildung – Fakten und Zahlen

Über 44% der Schweizer Bevölkerung verfügt über einen Bildungsabschluss auf Tertiärstufe. Ein durchlässiges und vielseitiges Bildungssystem bietet dafür Grundlage.

Obligatorische Schule

Kinder besuchen ab dem vierten Altersjahr den Kindergarten und stehen damit am Anfang ihrer obligatorischen Schulbildung. Diese dauert in der Regel 11 Jahre und setzt sich aus Primarstufe und Sekundarstufe I zusammen.

Allgemeinbildende Schulen

Das Gymnasium und die Fachmittelschule sind allgemeinbildende Schulen, welche Jugendliche auf den Eintritt an Hochschulen/Universitäten oder Schulen der höheren Berufsbildung vorbereiten.

Berufliche Grundbildung

Die duale Ausbildung, sprich die Ausbildung an den beiden Lernorten Berufsschule und Lernbetrieb, bringt Fachkräfte in tatsächlich nachgefragten Berufsqualifikationen hervor.

Universitäten und andere Hochschulen

Das Studium an Hochschulen der Schweiz folgt dem international verbreiteten Studienmodel von Bachelor-, Master- und Doktoratsstufe.

Höhere Berufsbildung

Eine Besonderheit der Schweiz – Ausbildungsgänge für die Spezialisierung und Weiterbildung von Berufsleuten.