Secondary Level

The secondary education system is divided into two levels. Lower secondary is the final stage of compulsory education, but more than 90% of pupils continue on to upper-secondary level.

Children in a school yard
© Ringier

Lower-secondary level

Lower-secondary follows on from primary level. Children are generally around 12 years old when they start lower secondary, and in most cantons this education takes three years. Performance at the end of primary school, teachers' recommendations (often with the inclusion of the parents' opinion), and in some cases a transition examination, determine the particular performance level to which the pupil is assigned in lower-secondary education. The transition procedures differ according to canton and model. Tuition is generally given by specialists in the given discipline.

Upper-secondary level

Over 90% of young people in Switzerland continue on to upper-secondary level, where they can choose between vocational education and training or general education. Upper-secondary programmes run for between three and four years.

The majority of young people (two-thirds) in Switzerland opt for the VET route, where they learn their chosen trade. In most cases, this involves serving a part-time apprenticeship and taking classes at a trade school. The technical term for this model is “dual vocational education and training”.

General education programmes are dispensed primarily by baccalaureate schools and prepare pupils for entry to university.

Sekundarstufe

Die Sekundarstufe ist zweiteilig. Mit der Sekundarstufe I endet der obligatorische Schulunterricht. Über 90% der Jugendlichen setzen ihren Bildungsweg auf der Sekundarstufe II fort.

Kinder auf einem Schulhof
© Ringier

Die Sekundarstufe I

Die Sekundarstufe I folgt auf die Primarstufe. Die Kinder wechseln im Alter von etwa 12 Jahren auf diese Stufe. In den meisten Kantonen dauert sie drei Jahre. Die Leistungen am Ende der Primarstufe, die Empfehlung der Lehrperson – häufig unter Einbezug der Eltern – sowie teilweise eine Übertrittsprüfung entscheiden über die Zuteilung zu einem bestimmten Leistungsniveau auf der Sekundarstufe I. Die Übertrittsverfahren sind je nach Kanton und Modell unterschiedlich. Der Unterricht wird in der Regel von Spezialisten des jeweiligen Fachs erteilt.

Die Sekundarstufe II

Nach dem obligatorischen Schulunterricht treten über 90% der Jugendlichen auf die Sekundarstufe II über, wobei sie wählen können zwischen zwei Bildungswegen: der Berufsbildung und allgemein bildenden Schulen. Die Sekundarstufe II dauert drei bis vier Jahre.

Die Berufsbildung ist die bedeutendste Erstausbildung in der Schweiz. Sie ermöglicht es zwei Dritteln der Jugendlichen, einen Beruf zu erlernen. Sie findet hauptsächlich in einem Lehrbetrieb statt und wird ergänzt mit theoretischem Schulunterricht an einer Berufsfachschule. Der Fachbegriff dafür heisst «duale Berufsbildung».

Die Allgemeinbildung wird vor allem an den Gymnasien mit Maturitätsabschluss erteilt und dient der Vorbereitung für den Übertritt an eine universitäre Hochschule.