Swiss Specials

A construction project serving Europe – The opening of the Gotthard Base Tunnel in 2016

The world’s longest railway tunnel – the Gotthard Base Tunnel – was officially opened on 1 June 2016.

Solar Impulse – Around the world in a solar-powered aircraft

Solar Impulse has brought the dream of flying over long distances without the need for fossil fuel a step closer to reality.

A sparkling metallic-grey shard of rock crystal in the heart of the Alps

At an altitude of 2,883 metres and nestled among the glaciers and imposing peaks of the Valais Alps, the new Monte Rosa mountain refuge rises from the icy landscape like a giant sparkling shard of rock crystal.

Protecting cultural and natural heritage of universal value

From the medieval Old Town of Berne to the futuristic city of Brasilia, from the tiny convent of Müstair to the imposing cathedral of Chartres, from the fertile terraced vineyards of Lavaux to the vast desert of Ténéré – all have one thing in common: they are UNESCO World Heritage Sites.

Swiss Watches

Quality, precision, uniqueness, reliability, tradition, design, innovation … these are just a few of the words that sum up the Swiss watchmaking industry – an industry which manages to produce timepieces that are diminutive yet highly complex, traditional yet state-of-the art.

Mountain records

Switzerland is synonymous with mountains. Not only do they cover one third of the country’s surface area, but they are also of major historical, geopolitical and economic importance. The mountains, for example, have been the selling point of the Swiss tourist industry for more than 100 years.

Cheese in Switzerland

Hard cheese, soft cheese, cottage cheese, cheese made in mountain chalets, cheese made in valley factories, cheese shaved into rosettes, cheese boxed in red pine, cheese melted in wine to make fondue, hot cheese dribbled over potatoes to make raclette...

Dossiers

Ein Bauwerk im Dienste Europas – Die Eröffnung des Gotthard-Basistunnels 2016

Am 1. Juni 2016 wurde der längste Eisenbahntunnel (57.1km) der Welt eingeweiht: Der Gotthard-Basistunnel.

Solar Impulse – Weltumrundung in einem Solarflugzeug

Mit dem Solarflugzeug Solar Impulse ist der Traum des freien Fluges ohne einen Tropfen fossile Energien auch über lange Distanzen Realität geworden.

Die neue Monte Rosa-Hütte: Ein metallisch schimmernder Bergkristall

Auf 2883 m ü. Meer umgeben von Gletschern und den eindrücklichen Walliser Berggipfeln, glitzert die neue Monte Rosa-Hütte wie ein Bergkristall im Fels. Nach ihrer Einweihung im September 2009 wurde dieses futuristische Gebäude sofort zu einem touristischen Anziehungspunkt

UNESCO-Welterbe: Schutz universeller Schätze

Die mittelalterliche Berner Altstadt und das futuristische Brasilia, das kleine Kloster Müstair und die imposante Kathedrale von Chartres, die fruchtbaren Weinberg-Terrassen des Lavaux und die Wüste Ténere haben alle etwas gemeinsam: Sie gehören zum UNESCO-Welterbe.

Schweizer Uhren

Qualität, Präzision, Einzigartigkeit, Beständigkeit, Tradition, Design, Innovation … Es fehlt nicht an Eigenschaften, um die Vielseitigkeit der Schweizer Uhrenindustrie zu beschreiben.

Die Schweiz und ihre Bergrekorde

Es ist unmöglich, sich eine Schweiz ohne Berge vorzustellen. Die Berge machen nicht nur rund einen Drittel der Schweizer Fläche aus, sondern besitzen auch aus historischer und geopolitischer Hinsicht eine grosse Wichtigkeit.

Käse in der Schweiz

Hartkäse, Weichkäse, Hüttenkäse, Alpkäse aus der Alphütte, Käse aus grossen und kleinen Käsereien, Käse geschnitten zu Rosetten, Käse in der Schachtel, geschmolzener Käse ... einmal in Wein für Fondue, einmal im Racletteofen, um damit Pellkartoffel («G’schwellti») zu überziehen ... Die Löcher im Käse sind nicht alles, entdecken Sie selbst!