Chocolate

Switzerland is famous around the world for its chocolate. It owes this renown to the innovative advances of Swiss chocolate makers in the 19th century.

A "conche" machine used in chocolate-making
A “conche”, the machine used in chocolate-making to produce smooth and creamy chocolate that melts in the mouth. © CHOCOSUISSE, Association of Swiss Chocolate Manufacturers, www.chocosuisse.ch CHOCOSUISSE

Switzerland is one of the largest chocolate producers in the world, and has the highest per capita chocolate consumption. In 2016, Switzerland’s 18 leading chocolate producers manufactured more than 180,000 tonnes of chocolate, of which 64% was sold abroad. The largest producers are Nestlé, Lindt & Sprüngli and Frey.

The first chocolate factories emerged at the end of the 18th century in French-speaking Switzerland (Vevey, Morges and Lausanne) and in Val di Blenio in Ticino. During the 19th century, chocolate production spread. Mechanisation led to lower prices and, consequently, the customer base for chocolate grew ever wider.

A number of inventions were the brainchild of Swiss chocolate makers. For example, in 1875, Daniel Peter became the first person to make milk chocolate by combining Nestlé condensed milk with cocoa. Together with the descendants of Charles-Amédée Kohler, who invented hazelnut chocolate, Peter set up his own company. In 1879, Rudolf Lindt opened a chocolate factory in Bern and developed ‘conching’, a process which created the world's first ‘melting chocolate’.

In the 20th century a number of independent chocolate makers were bought by major food companies, such as Cailler which was taken over by Nestlé in 1929. Other small producers managed to remain independent, and continue to keep the artisan chocolate-making tradition alive in Switzerland.

Additional information

Schokolade

Schweizer Schokolade ist weltbekannt. Sie verdankt ihren guten Ruf den innovativen Ideen von Schweizer Chocolatiers im 19. Jahrhundert.

Längsreibmachine zur Schokoladenherstellung
Eine Längsreibmachine oder «Conche», mit der homogene und auf der Zunge zartschmelzende Schokolade hergestellt werden kann. © CHOCOSUISSE, Verband Schweizerischer Schokoladefabrikanten, www.chocosuisse.ch

Die Schweiz gehört zu den Ländern mit der weltweit höchsten Schokoladenproduktion und hat weltweit den höchsten Schokoladenkonsum pro Kopf. Im Jahr 2015 haben die 18 wichtigsten Schokoladenproduzenten mehr als 180’000 Tonnen Schokolade hergestellt, wovon 64% ins Ausland verkauft wurde. Zu den grössten Schokoladenherstellern in der Schweiz gehören Nestlé, Lindt & Sprüngli und Frey.

Die ersten Schokoladenfabriken entstanden Ende des 18. Jahrhunderts in der welschen Schweiz, in Vevey, Morges und Lausanne, sowie im Tessiner Val di Blenio. Im Laufe des 19. Jahrhunderts weitete sich die Schokoladenproduktion aus. Automatisierte Herstellungsverfahren liessen die Preise sinken und die Schokolade fand zunehmend grössere Abnehmerkreise.

Eine Reihe von Erfindungen stammen von Schweizer Chocolatiers. So hat Daniel Peter als erster bereits im Jahr 1875 Kondensmilch von Nestlé mit Kakao vermischt und auf diese Weise Milchschokolade hergestellt. Zusammen mit Nachkommen von Charles-Amédée Kohler, einem der Erfinder der Schokolade mit Haselnüssen, gründete Peter eine Firma. Und 1879 eröffnete Rudolf Lindt in Bern eine Schokoladefabrik und entwickelte die Conchiermaschine, womit erstmals in der Geschichte schmelzende Schokolade hergestellt werden konnte.

Im weiteren Verlauf des 20. Jahrhunderts wurden einzelne Fabriken von grossen Lebensmittelkonzernen aufgekauft, beispielsweise Cailler im Jahr 1929 von Nestlé. Andere kleinere Produzenten konnten ihre Eigenständigkeit bewahren und pflegen bis heute die Tradition der handwerklichen Schokoladenherstellung.

Weiterführende Informationen