Vocational Education and Training

The Swiss VET (vocational education and training) system enables young people to enter the labour market and ensures that there are enough qualified workers and managers in the future. The VET sector is closely correlated with the labour market and is an integral part of the education system.

Watch-making apprentice in a watch factory
Watchmaking in Grenchen. © FDFA, Presence Switzerland

A defining feature of the Swiss VET system is its close correlation with the labour market. Training is geared to the actual demand for vocational qualifications and to the jobs available. Thanks to this direct connection to the labour market, Switzerland has one of the lowest rates of youth unemployment in Europe.

Vocational training is an integral part of the Swiss education system. It begins at the upper-secondary level, with pupils having the option of continuing through to tertiary level. It is characterised by a high degree of permeability: pupils may pursue more advanced education and training opportunities and later change the course of their working lives with relative ease.

After completing their compulsory education, around two-thirds of young people in Switzerland opt for the vocational route. Most VET programmes are of the dual-track variety: serving an apprenticeship for three to four days a week to learn the trade in practice, and the rest of the time receiving classroom tuition on the theoretical aspects at a trade (VET) school.

There are around 250 officially recognised basic VET programmes in Switzerland to choose from. The most popular occupations are: commercial employee, retail employee, health care worker, social care worker, electrician, cook and IT specialist. The duration of the programmes varies depending on the occupation but can last from two to four years. These programmes lead to a federal VET diploma or a federal VET certificate, both of which are recognised nationwide.

The next level is professional education and training (PET). It enables holders of a VET qualification to specialise in a given field and prepares them for highly technical and managerial roles. There are around 400 federal PET examinations as well as 57 PET college degree programmes in eight different professional fields. Holders of a federal vocational baccalaureat are entitled to enroll in any of Switzerland’s universities of applied sciences without having to take an entrance examination.

Formation professionnelle

La formation professionnelle permet aux jeunes de prendre pied dans le monde du travail et assure la relève en formant des professionnels et des cadres dirigeants qualifiés. Elle est orientée vers le marché du travail et intégrée au système éducatif.

Apparentis horlogers dans une manufacture horlogère
Manufacture horlogère à Granges. © DFAE, Présence Suisse

La formation professionnelle suisse se caractérise par son orientation vers le marché du travail. Les formations proposées sont axées à la fois sur les qualifications professionnelles effectivement recherchées et sur les possibilités d’embauche existantes. Ce lien direct avec le monde du travail permet à la Suisse d’afficher l’un des taux de chômage des jeunes les plus bas en comparaison internationale.

La formation professionnelle s’inscrit dans le système éducatif et fait partie intégrante du degré secondaire II et du degré tertiaire. Elle se caractérise par une perméabilité élevée: il est possible de suivre ultérieurement des offres de formation plus exigeantes ou de changer d’activité durant sa vie professionnelle sans perdre de temps pour autant.

En Suisse, environ deux tiers des jeunes débutent une formation professionnelle initiale après la scolarité obligatoire. La formation duale, en entreprise et à l’école professionnelle, est le type de formation professionnelle le plus répandu.  Les apprentis travaillent entre trois et quatre jours par semaine au sein d’une entreprise formatrice, afin d’y acquérir une expérience pratique. Le reste du temps, ils fréquentent une école professionnelle pour y développer leurs connaissances théoriques.

Près de 250 formations professionnelles sont reconnues en Suisse. Employé de commerce, gestionnaire du commerce de détail, assistant en soins et santé communautaire, assistant socio-éducatif, installateur-électricien, cuisinier et informaticien figurent parmi les plus prisées.  La durée de la formation dure deux, trois ou quatre ans, selon le métier choisi. Les apprentis qui réussissent l’examen de fin d’apprentissage obtiennent un Certificat fédéral de capacité (CFC) ou une Attestation fédérale de formation professionnelle (AFP). Ceux-ci sont reconnus dans l’ensemble du pays.

La formation professionnelle supérieure s’inscrit dans le prolongement de la formation professionnelle initiale. Elle permet d’acquérir des compétences spécifiques en vue d’assumer des fonctions techniques et managériales. Les étudiants ont le choix entre près de 400 examens professionnels et examens professionnels supérieurs et 57 filières de formation proposées par des écoles supérieures dans huit domaines différents. Par ailleurs, la maturité professionnelle permet d’accéder directement aux hautes écoles spécialisées.