Bread

More than 200 varieties of bread are baked in Switzerland. The country is also renowned for its pastries.

Some loaves of bread
© PDO / PGI

Bread baking is a centuries-old tradition in Switzerland. The variety of breads reflects regional preferences and tastes. The German-speaking Swiss tend to prefer their bread darker than their French- and Italian-speaking neighbours. However, as people have become more health-conscious, white bread is increasingly losing ground to brown varieties.

Each canton has its own particular style of loaf. In Graubünden, the loaf is ring-shaped and made from a mixture of wheat and rye flour. The typical Jura loaf is decorated with the cantonal coat-of-arms. The Ticino loaf, made from white flour, is made up of several little loaves put together. Rye bread from the canton of Valais is the only Swiss bread to have the AOP label (protected designation of origin). There is also an array of special festive breads, such as “Cuchaule” from the canton of Fribourg, a saffron-infused brioche loaf served during “Bénichon/Chilbi” (harvest festival).

Pastries

Switzerland also has a large assortment of traditional biscuits. They include “Läckerli” (made from wheat flour, honey, sugar, candied fruit and nuts), “Hüppen” (rolled and filled wafers) and “Bricelets/Offleten”, wafer-thin waffle biscuits. There are also a number of specialities that are served on the Feast of St Nicholas and during Advent, such as “Lebkuchen” (gingerbread), “Biberli” (marzipan-filled gingerbread), and “Grittibänz”, little leavened man-shaped bread rolls.

Additional information

Le pain

Plus de 200 sortes de pain sont produites en Suisse. Le pays est également connu pour ses pâtisseries.

Pains ronds.
© AOP / IPG

En Suisse, la tradition du pain remonte à plusieurs siècles. Les différents pains traduisent les préférences régionales: les germanophones préfèrent le pain foncé, les francophones et italophones le pain blanc. De manière générale, le pain blanc tend à perdre de son attrait au profit du pain noir, considéré comme plus sain. 

Chaque canton dispose de son propre pain traditionnel. Par exemple, le pain des Grisons est composé d’un mélange de farine de blé et de seigle, et il est en forme de couronne. Le pain du Jura est plat et décoré avec l’emblème du drapeau cantonal. Le pain du Tessin est composé de nombreuses petites miches à base de farine blanche. Le pain de seigle du Valais est le seul pain de Suisse à porter le label AOP (appellation d’origine protégée). Il existe également des pains de fêtes, par exemple la cuchaule, un pain brioché avec du safran, liée à la tradition de la Bénichon dans le canton de Fribourg. 

Pâtisserie 

Il existe de nombreuses sortes de biscuits, tels que les läckerlis (faits de miel, de sucre, de cannelle et de fruits confits, notamment), les hüppen (gaufrettes roulées et fourrées) ou les bricelets (galettes très fines). Il existe également de nombreuses spécialités souvent liées à la Saint-Nicolas ou la période de l’Avent, comme les biscômes (pain d’épices), les biberlis (biscuits fourrés avec une pâte d’amande) ou les grittibänz (pains briochés).

Informations supplémentaires