Banks and insurance providers

Banks, insurance providers and pension funds in Switzerland employ some 204,300 full-time equivalent staff and generate about 10% of the country's GDP. Switzerland's finance sector is the global leader in wealth management. It also ensures basic services for the Swiss economy and population such as loans and other financial services. The banking tradition in Switzerland dates back to the 16th century.

Safe-deposit boxes in a bank
Safe-deposit boxes in a bank © FDFA, Presence Switzerland

The banks are a pillar of the Swiss economy. In 2018 the sector generated value-added of around CHF 33 billion, or about 4.7% of the country’s GDP. If the value-added generated by the insurance sector is also included, the financial sector contributes about 10% to Switzerland’s GDP.

In 2018, the number of full-time equivalent employees in the financial sector was 204,300, some 105,000 of whom worked in banks. As well as the direct contribution to GDP, the regionally diverse banking sector provides the Swiss economy and the population with loans and other financial services.

Switzerland is one of the most important financial centres in the world. In terms of cross-border private banking, Switzerland was the world leader in 2017, with a market share of 27.5%. In 2017 Swiss banks managed assets worth over CHF 7.9 trillion, of which around one half were from abroad.

There are 253 banks in Switzerland (2017). The two banking giants UBS and Credit Suisse have an approximate 50% share of the market. The remaining 50% is mostly divided among the 24 cantonal banks, foreign banks, Raiffeisen banks, investment banks, regional banks, savings banks and private banks.

Origins and development 

The banking tradition in Switzerland dates back to the 16th century, but it was only after the two world wars that the country became a leading international financial centre. Stability, neutrality and a strong Swiss franc, as well as the establishment of banking secrecy in 1934 were some of the factors that led to an influx of capital from abroad. The second half of the 20th century was a period of major growth for the banking sector. Between 1980 and 2005 the value-added generated by the financial industry grew by 3.5% year-on-year, while the rest of the economy grew by only 1.3%.

Swiss banks were also adversely affected by the global financial crisis of 2007/2008. International reforms to shore up stability and improve transparency in the financial markets (e.g. Basel III, automatic sharing of tax information etc.) forced the Swiss financial centre to revise its strategy. Switzerland's swift introduction of ‘too big to fail’ regulations and the subsequent adherence to international standards are designed to ensure that the Swiss financial centre continues to flourish in the future. Thanks to the stability of its currency and political system, as well as its high level of legal certainty, Switzerland remains one of the world’s most important financial centres.

Banques et assurances

En Suisse, les banques, les assurances et les caisses de pension représentent l’équivalent d’environ 204 300 emplois à plein temps et génèrent environ 10% du produit intérieur brut. Leader international de la gestion d’actifs, le secteur financier suisse fournit également à l’économie et à la population des prestations de base tels que des crédits et des services financiers. Les origines du système bancaire remontent au 16e siècle.

Coffres-forts dans unebanque
Coffres-forts. © DFAE, Présence Suisse © DFAE, Présence Suisse

Les banques sont l’un des piliers de l’économie suisse. En 2018, la valeur ajoutée du secteur atteignait environ 33 milliards de francs, ce qui correspond à environ 4,7% du produit intérieur brut. Si l’on y ajoute la valeur ajoutée des assurances, le secteur financier dans son ensemble représente un peu moins de 10% du produit intérieur brut de la Suisse.

En 2018, le nombre de salariés en équivalent temps plein était d’environ 204 300, dont 105 000 employés par les banques. Outre la création directe de valeur, le secteur bancaire suisse, dont les prestations sont variées et diversifiées sur le plan régional, assure un approvisionnement efficace de l’économie intérieure et de la population en crédits et diverses autres prestations financières.

La Suisse est l’une des principales places financières au monde. Fin 2017, le secteur bancaire suisse était leader du marché mondial de la gestion de fortune transfrontalière avec une part de marché de 27,5%. Durant cette même année, les actifs sous gestion des banques suisses s’élevaient à 7292 milliards de francs, dont environ la moitié provenait de l’étranger.

La Suisse compte près de 253 banques (2017). Les deux grandes banques internationales, UBS et Credit Suisse, représentent environ 50% du marché bancaire. Les 50 % restants se répartissent principalement entre les 24 banques cantonales, les banques étrangères, les banques Raiffeisen, les banques boursières, les banques régionales, les caisses d’épargne et les banques privées.

Origine et évolution

L’origine de l’activité bancaire en Suisse remonte au 16e siècle, mais ce n’est qu’au lendemain des deux guerres mondiales que la Suisse devient une importante place financière internationale. La stabilité, la neutralité, la force du franc suisse et l’établissement du secret bancaire en 1934 ont notamment permis d’attirer un grand nombre de capitaux en provenance de l’étranger. Le secteur a connu une forte croissance durant la deuxième moitié du 20e siècle. Entre 1980 et 2005, la valeur ajoutée de l’industrie bancaire a augmenté de 3,5% par an, contre seulement 1,3% pour le reste de l’économie.

Les banques suisses ont également été fortement touchées par la crise financière de 2007–2008. D’importantes réformes internationales visant à améliorer la stabilité et la transparence des marchés financiers (par exemple la réforme Bâle III ou l’échange automatique d’informations fiscales) ont poussé la place financière suisse à réorienter sa stratégie. L’introduction rapide de la réglementation «too big to fail» et l’adhésion de la Suisse à divers standards internationaux ont pour objectif d’assurer un avenir serein aux banques suisses. La Suisse demeure l’une des principales places financières du monde, notamment en raison de la stabilité du franc suisse, de la stabilité politique et de la sécurité juridique que le pays offre.