Publications and Patents

Swiss scientific publications have a considerable impact internationally. Switzerland has also one of the highest rates per capita of patent applications.

View of the IGE building
© FDFA, Presence Switzerland

Publications 

Swiss researchers produce roughly 1.2% of all scientific papers published worldwide, putting it in 17th place in international rankings. If we consider the actual number of papers produced in proportion to the country’s population, Switzerland comes top of the class, with an average of 3.9 publications per 1,000 inhabitants. 

Switzerland also performs exceptionally well in terms of its relative citation performance in international comparison. Swiss scientific publications are highly acclaimed internationally: in terms of impact, Switzerland exceeds the global average of 17% and takes third position after the United States and the Netherlands. 

Patents 

In 2016, there were 892 patent applications per million inhabitants filed by Switzerland with the European Patent Office (EPO). The Netherlands came in second position with 405. Patents are governed by the Federal Act on Patents for Inventions and its accompanying ordinance. The Swiss Federal Institute of Intellectual Property evaluates all patent applications with regard to their registration in both Switzerland and in over 30 other European countries. Patents are protected for a maximum of 20 years in Switzerland.

Additional information

Publications et brevets

L’impact des publications scientifiques suisses est élevé en comparaison internationale. Par ailleurs, la Suisse est l’un des pays qui dépose le plus grand nombre de brevets par habitant au monde.

Vue partielle de l'IPI
© DFAE, Présence Suisse

Publications 

La Suisse produit 1,2% des publications mondiales, ce qui la place au 17e rang mondial en termes de volume de publications. Avec 3,9 publications pour 1000 habitants, la Suisse est le pays le productif en la matière. 

Le nombre de citations des publications scientifiques permet également de mesurer l’impact des publications scientifiques suisses en comparaison internationale. Ces dernières une forte reconnaissance en dehors des frontières, puisque leur impact excède la moyenne mondiale de 17% (3e rang après les Etats-Unis et les Pays Bas). 

Brevets 

En 2016, 892 demandes de brevets par million d’habitants ont été déposées en von der Schweiz beim Europäischen Patentamt EPA Suisse. Den zweiten Platz auf dieser Liste eroberten die Niederlande mit 405.Hormis le Japon, aucun autre pays au monde ne dépose autant de brevets proportionnellement à sa population. Les bases légales du domaine sont la loi fédérale sur les brevets d’invention et l’ordonnance sur les brevets d’invention. Les demandes sont examinées par l’Institut fédéral de la propriété intellectuelle pour une protection en Suisse tout comme au sein de plus de 30 pays européens. La durée maximale de protection est de 20 ans en Suisse.

Informations supplémentaires