A global compass for sustainable development

The 193 member states of the United Nations adopted the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development on 25 September 2015. The Agenda represents the synthesis of the UN conferences on sustainable development of 1992, 2002, and 2012, and the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs), which lapsed at the end of 2015.

The 2030 Agenda is a major milestone in sustainable development. Beginning in 2016, it sets the globally applicable framework for national and international efforts to find shared solutions to the world's greatest challenges, such as extreme poverty, climate change, environmental degradation and health-related crises. The 2030 Agenda applies to all states, whether north or south of the equator, and determines international guidelines and priorities for sustainable development up to 2030. It is intended to help strengthen economic growth, promote human welfare, and protect the environment. It also takes up aspects such as peace, the rule of law and good governance, which are all essential to sustainable development.

At the heart of the 2030 Agenda are the 17 Sustainable Development Goals, SDGs, and their 169 targets.

The outcome of the Third International Conference on Financing for Development in Addis Ababa – the Addis Ababa Action Agenda – also forms an integral part of the 2030 Agenda.  It determines a new framework for the funding and realisation of sustainable development.

Globaler Kompass für nachhaltige Entwicklung

Am 25. September 2015 haben die 193 Mitgliedsstaaten der UNO die Agenda 2030 für nachhaltige Entwicklung verabschiedet. Diese ist das Ergebnis aus der Zusammenführung der UNO-Konferenzen für nachhaltige Entwicklung 1992, 2002, 2012 und den Ende 2015 ausgelaufenen Millenniumsentwicklungszielen.

Die Agenda 2030 ist ein wichtiger Meilenstein für die nachhaltige Entwicklung. Ab 2016 ist sie der global geltende Rahmen für die nationalen und internationalen Bemühungen zur gemeinsamen Lösung der grossen Herausforderungen der Welt, wie extreme Armut, Klimawandel, Umweltzerstörung oder Gesundheitskrisen. Die Agenda 2030 gilt für alle Staaten – im Norden wie im Süden – und setzt bis 2030 die internationalen Leitlinien und Prioritäten für nachhaltige Entwicklung. Dabei bezweckt sie einen Beitrag zur wirtschaftlichen Entwicklung, die Förderung des menschlichen Wohlergehens und den Schutz der Umwelt. Zudem greift sie Aspekte wie Frieden, Rechtsstaatlichkeit und Regierungsführung auf, welche für die nachhaltige Entwicklung von grundlegender Bedeutung sind.

Kernbestandteil der Agenda 2030 sind die 17 Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung (Sustainable Development Goals, SDGs) und ihre 169 Zielvorgaben (Unterziele).

Die Resultate der dritten internationalen Konferenz zur Entwicklungsfinanzierung von Addis Abeba bilden ebenfalls einen integralen Bestandteil der Agenda 2030. Sie bilden das neue Rahmenwerk zur Finanzierung und Umsetzung der nachhaltigen Entwicklung.