Switzerland's commitment

Exterior view of the Federal Palace in Bern.
An interdepartmental process has been launched to implement the 2030 Agenda. ©John Chu

By adopting the 2030 Agenda, all states declared their willingness to join forces to achieve the 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) by 2030 – and Switzerland was among them. In early 2016, the federal government embarked on an interdepartmental process to implement the 2030 Agenda. By spring 2018 it will identify the areas in which there is a particular need for action, the priorities that should be set, and how implementation work might be coordinated.

The Federal Council attaches great importance to the 2030 Agenda. Although it is not binding under international law, it is the Federal Council's intention to see it implemented both in Switzerland and globally. The objectives are to be achieved via existing instruments and policies, specifically the Sustainable Development Strategy, the Dispatch on Switzerland's International Cooperation 2017-20, and via existing national and international sectoral policies, including the related bilateral and multilateral conventions.

The federal government’s work

Following the adoption of the 2030 Agenda in September 2015, the Federal Council determined the next steps in the process. One of the key tasks is to determine which action must be taken in Switzerland to achieve the SDGs. The Federal Council would like to see a concerted effort on the part of the federal government, the cantons, the communes and non-governmental actors to reconcile the gaps that exist at present, and to tackle them effectively. In addition, the federal government's MONET system of indicators, which is used to monitor sustainable development, is to be expanded so that it can also track progress with the SDGs.

National 2030 Agenda Working Group

In early 2016, the federal government embarked on an interdepartmental process to implement the 2030 Agenda. The work is being coordinated by the National 2030 Agenda Working Group. The Working Group is led jointly by the Federal Office for Spatial Development (ARE), and the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC). It is made up of representatives from the Federal Offices for the Environment (FOEN), Health (FOPH) and Agriculture (FOA), the Federal Statistical Office (FSO), the FDFA Directorate of Political Affairs (Sectoral Foreign Policies Division) and the Federal Chancellery.

Der Bund setzt sich ein

Aussensicht des Bundeshauses in Bern.
Zur Umsetzung der Agenda 2030 wurde ein interdepartementaler Prozess lanciert. © John Chu

Mit der Verabschiedung der Agenda 2030 haben sich alle Staaten bereit erklärt, die 17 Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung bis 2030 gemeinsam zu erreichen – auch die Schweiz. Zur Umsetzung der Agenda 2030 hat der Bund Anfang 2016 einen interdepartementalen Prozess begonnen. Bis Frühjahr 2018 wird geklärt, in welchen Bereichen besonderer Handlungsbedarf besteht, welche Schwerpunkte gesetzt werden sollen und wie die Umsetzungsarbeiten koordiniert werden.

Der Bundesrat misst der Agenda 2030 grosse Bedeutung zu: Zwar ist die Agenda völkerrechtlich nicht verbindlich, der Bundesrat ist jedoch gewillt, sie sowohl auf nationaler als auch auf internationaler Ebene umzusetzen. Die Umsetzung soll durch bestehende Instrumente und Politiken erfolgen, insbesondere durch die Strategie Nachhaltige Entwicklung, die Botschaft zur internationalen Zusammenarbeit der Schweiz 2017–2020 und über die bestehenden nationalen und internationalen Sektoralpolitiken, inklusive deren bilateralen und multilateralen Übereinkommen.

Arbeiten des Bundes

Nach der Verabschiedung der Agenda 2030 im September 2015 hat der Bundesrat das weitere Vorgehen festgelegt. Ein zentraler Schritt ist die Ermittlung des Handlungsbedarfs, der in der Schweiz in Bezug auf die Zielerreichung vorliegt. Weiter wird eine Zusammenarbeit zwischen Bund, Kantonen, Gemeinden und nicht-staatlichen Akteuren angestrebt, damit die bestehenden Lücken zur Zielerreichung ermittelt und wirkungsvoll angegangen werden können. Zudem wird das Indikatorensystem Monitoring der Nachhaltigen Entwicklung (MONET) des Bundes erweitert, um den Fortschritt der Zielerreichung beobachten zu können.

«Arbeitsgruppe Agenda 2030 national»

Zur Umsetzung der Agenda 2030 hat der Bund Anfang 2016 einen interdepartementalen Prozess begonnen. Die Arbeiten werden durch die «Arbeitsgruppe Agenda 2030 national» koordiniert. Die Arbeitsgruppe wird gemeinsam vom Bundesamt für Raumentwicklung (ARE) und der Direktion für Entwicklung und Zusammenarbeit (DEZA) geleitet. Darin vertreten sind die Bundesämter für Umwelt (BAFU), Gesundheit (BAG), Landwirtschaft (BLW), Statistik (BFS), die politische Direktion des EDA (Abteilung Sektorielle Aussenpolitik) und die Bundeskanzlei (BK).