Switzerland's commitment

By adopting the 2030 Agenda, all states declared their willingness to join forces to achieve the 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) by 2030, with each country making an appropriate contribution to their implementation at both national and international level.

The Federal Council attaches great importance to the 2030 Agenda. Although it is not binding under international law, it is the Federal Council's intention to see it implemented both in Switzerland and globally. Specifically, the objectives are to be achieved via existing instruments and policies, such as the Sustainable Development Strategy, the Dispatch on Switzerland's International Cooperation 2017-20, and via existing national and international sectoral policies, including the related bilateral and multilateral conventions.

Following the adoption of the 2030 Agenda in September 2015, the Federal Council determined the next steps in the process. One of the key tasks is to determine where Switzerland currently stands on progress towards the SDGs, and where action must be taken before 2030. The Federal Council would like to see a concerted effort on the part of the federal government, the cantons, the communes and non-governmental actors to reconcile the gaps that exist at present, and to tackle them effectively. In addition, the federal government's MONET system of indicators, which is used to monitor sustainable development, is to be expanded so that it can also track progress with the SDGs.

In early 2018 the Federal Council will publish a progress report and decide how to proceed in the years ahead.

Die Schweiz setzt sich ein

Mit der Verabschiedung der Agenda 2030 haben sich alle Staaten bereit erklärt, die 17 Ziele zur nachhaltigen Entwicklung bis 2030 gemeinsam zu erreichen, indem jedes Land einen angemessenen Beitrag für deren Umsetzung auf nationaler und auf internationaler Ebene leistet.

Der Bundesrat misst der Agenda 2030 grosse Bedeutung zu: Zwar ist die Agenda völkerrechtlich nicht verbindlich, der Bundesrat ist jedoch gewillt, sie sowohl auf nationaler als auch auf internationaler Ebene umzusetzen. Die Umsetzung soll insbesondere durch bestehende Instrumente und Politiken erfolgen wie durch die Strategie Nachhaltige Entwicklung, die Botschaft zur internationalen Zusammenarbeit der Schweiz 2017–2020 und über die bestehenden nationalen und internationalen Sektoralpolitiken, inklusive deren bilateralen und multilateralen Übereinkommen.

Nach der Verabschiedung der Agenda 2030 im September 2015 hat der Bundesrat das weitere Vorgehen festgelegt. Ein zentraler Schritt ist die Ermittlung, wo die Schweiz in Bezug auf die Zielerreichung steht und welcher Handlungsbedarf bis 2030 vorliegt. Weiter wird eine Zusammenarbeit zwischen Bund, Kantonen, Gemeinden und nicht-staatlichen Akteuren angestrebt, damit die bestehenden Lücken zur Zielerreichung abgestimmt und wirkungsvoll angegangen werden können. Zudem wird das Indikatorensystem Monitoring der Nachhaltigen Entwicklung (MONET) des Bundes erweitert, um den Fortschritt der Zielerreichung beobachten zu können.

Anfang 2018 wird der Bundesrat einen Bericht zum Stand der Zielerreichung veröffentlichen und über das weitere Vorgehen entscheiden.