The Sustainable Development Strategy

Switzerland has enshrined sustainable development in its constitution as a binding objective for all levels of government. The Federal Council’s Sustainable Development Strategy sets out its medium to long-term policy priorities in this area.

The Sustainable Development Strategy provides a roadmap for the direction in which Switzerland should continue to develop in certain key areas. It forms part of the broader legislative planning process. The revised version for the 2016–2019 period was adopted on 27 January 2016. The Strategy represents the target scenario for sustainable development and comprises a long-term vision and a set of goals for 2030.

The 2030 Agenda provides a reference framework for the new Sustainable Development Strategy. Indeed, the Strategy already incorporates many of the requirements of the SDGs. In the longer term, the aim is to gear the Strategy as closely as possible to the 2030 Agenda.

Strategie Nachhaltige Entwicklung

Die Schweiz hat die nachhaltige Entwicklung als einen für alle Staatsebenen verbindlichen Zweck in der Verfassung festgeschrieben. In der Strategie Nachhaltige Entwicklung zeigt der Bundesrat auf, welche politischen Schwerpunkte er für die nachhaltige Entwicklung mittel- bis langfristig setzt.

Die Strategie Nachhaltige Entwicklung ist ein Orientierungsrahmen, der zeigt, in welche Richtung sich die Schweiz künftig in wichtigen Bereichen weiterentwickeln soll. Sie ist mit der Legislaturplanung verknüpft und wurde am 27. Januar 2016 für die Jahre 2016 bis 2019 erneuert. Die Strategie enthält einen thematischen Zielrahmen, der aus einer langfristigen Vision und Zielen bis 2030 besteht.

Die Agenda 2030 bildet einen Referenzrahmen für die neue Strategie Nachhaltige Entwicklung. Bereits heute sind viele Anforderungen der Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) in zentralen Themenbereichen der Strategie verankert. Längerfristig ist eine möglichst umfassende Ausrichtung der Strategie auf die Agenda 2030 anzustreben.