Sustainable Development Geek

Sustainable Development Geek card game.
SDGeek, an exciting card game about the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development. © FDFA

Sustainable Development Geek is a card game that tests players’ knowledge and stimulates interesting discussions. The game, which is inspired by the 17 goals of the United Nations 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development, challenges preconceived ideas and shows new ways of looking at development issues. You can order the game free of charge from this link and benefit from other materials that are available.  

The game aims to stimulate players to think about sustainable development in an entertaining way. It was created in the belief that development can only be successful and sustainable if we question, discuss and further develop our ideas about the subject.  Sustainable Development Geek can be played by two or more people in various ways and is also suitable for school classes or for use at large-scale events.

Sustainable Development Geek developed on the basis of the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) – the objectives of the United Nations 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development. The SDGs officially came into effect on 1 January 2016; they are valid for all countries and designed as a set of guidelines to help fight poverty, reduce inequalities, and manage climate change for the period up to 2030.

Three of the game’s 106 questions

As a preview, try to answer this sample of three questions from the game:

What proportion of the Swiss population between 16 and 65 years of age are functionally illiterate (people who learned to read and write, but cannot understand a basic text)?

Which type of energy receives the greatest amount of subsidies worldwide?

How long does a refugee live as a refugee on average?

How to order and other SDGeek items

You can order the game free of charge from the link below. Under Documents you can download the whole game in PDF, with the reference list get more background information to the individual questions, and create your own personal Geek glasses. If you have any questions or would like to participate in developing the game further, write to us at sdgeek@eda.admin.ch.

Sustainable Development Geek

Jeu de cartes Sustainable Development Geek.
SDGeek, le passionnant jeu de cartes sur l’Agenda 2030. © DFAE

Le Sustainable Development Geek est un jeu de cartes qui vise à tester nos connaissances et à susciter des discussions captivantes. Basé sur les 17 objectifs de développement durable (ODD) de l'Agenda 2030 des Nations Unies, ce jeu démonte nos préjugés et élargit notre horizon. Commandez ce jeu gratuitement en cliquant sur le lien prévu à cet effet et profitez du matériel complémentaire mis à votre disposition. 

Le jeu invite à se pencher de manière ludique sur des thèmes liés au développement durable. Il repose sur la conviction que le développement ne peut être effectif et durable que si nous acceptons de confronter nos idées, d’en débattre et de les approfondir. Le Sustainable Development Geek peut se jouer de différentes manières, à deux joueurs ou plus. Il convient également aux écoles ou à l’animation d'événements de plus grande envergure.

Le jeu Sustainable Development Geek a été élaboré sur la base des Objectifs de développement durable (ODD), les objectifs de l’Agenda 2030 de l’ONU. Officiellement en vigueur depuis le 1er janvier 2016, les ODD s'appliquent à tous les pays. Ils doivent contribuer à combattre la pauvreté, à réduire les inégalités et à lutter contre les changements climatiques à l’horizon 2030.

Trois des 106 questions du jeu

En guise de mise en bouche, nous vous soumettons ici trois des 106 questions passionnantes du jeu: 

Quelle part de la population suisse âgée de 16 à 65 ans présente un illettrisme fonctionnel (personnes ayant appris à lire et à écrire, mais incapables de comprendre un texte simple)?

Quel type d’énergie reçoit plus de subventions dans le monde?

En moyenne, combien de temps un réfugié conserve-t-il ce statut?

Commande et matériel complémentaire

Vous pouvez commander gratuitement ce jeu sous le lien indiqué ci-dessous. Sous la rubrique Documents, vous pouvez télécharger le jeu complet au format PDF, découvrir ce que recouvre chaque question au moyen de la liste de référence ou encore vous fabriquer des lunettes geek sur mesure. Vous avez de questions ou souhaitez contribuer au développement du jeu? N’hésitez pas à nous écrire à l'adresse sdgeek@eda.admin.ch.