Developments

Switzerland has decision-shaping rights in regard to further developments of the Schengen acquis. This is significant because decisions are generally taken by consensus. It means that Switzerland can participate in shaping such developments and defend its interests directly in expert discussions or at ambassadorial or ministerial-level meetings.

Every time the EU passes a new legal act of relevance to the Schengen/Dublin acquis, Switzerland must decide, in accordance with Swiss parliamentary and direct democratic processes, whether it intends to adopt it. Since the signing of the agreements on 26 October 2004, the EU has notified Switzerland of 240 further developments of the Schengen acquis. In the majority of cases, the content is of a technical nature or limited in scope and so the Federal Council can directly approve or take note of them.  This leaves only around 35 legislative developments requiring parliamentary approval.

If any one of these is not implemented in Swiss law, the two agreements between Switzerland and the Schengen and Dublin states will cease to apply – unless the joint committee decides otherwise within 90 days. The joint committee comprises representatives of Switzerland, the European Commission and all EU member states. Any decision to uphold the agreements would have to be unanimous. To date, these contractual provisions have never been applied.

The following legislative developments are currently at the parliamentary approval stage. The ongoing and completed consultations and the respective Federal Council dispatches in relation to Schengen/Dublin are available online.

1. Introduction of a European Travel Information and Authorisation System (ETIAS) (Regulation (EU) 2018/1240)

In future, travellers from non-EU/EFTA countries who do not require a visa for the Schengen Area will have to apply for travel authorisation in advance. The application can be submitted online and costs around seven EUR. The information in the application is automatically checked against various security and migration databases (including Schengen Information Systems). This will determine whether there are grounds for refusing entry. In most cases, the automated application process will not report a hit, and the travel authorisation can be issued within minutes. It then remains valid for up to three years. ETIAS will make it possible to determine the eligibility of visa-exempt third-country nationals before travelling to the Schengen Area and, if necessary, refuse their travel authorisation. This will help to improve internal security, prevent illegal immigration and protect against public health risks. A similar system is already in use in the US, for example, with the ESTA travel authorisation.

  • The Federal Council approved the adoption of this further development on 10 October 2018, subject to parliamentary approval, and opened the consultation process on 13 February 2019.
  • The adoption of the regulation must next be approved by Parliament. The Federal Council dispatch to this effect is expected in spring 2020.

REGULATION (EU) No. 2018/1240

2. Modernisation of the Schengen Information System SIS II (Regulations (EU) 2018/1860, 2018/1861 and 2018/1862)

SIS is a database for recording stolen property and persons wanted for arrest for extradition, persons subject to an entry ban and missing persons. In 2017 alone, Switzerland obtained some 17,000 national and international search hits using SIS, which helped to prevent irregular migration, detect crimes and locate missing persons. These three regulations (SIS II package) now provide for a more complete search for suspected terrorists and improved protection of vulnerable minors and adults. Return decisions can now also be entered in SIS. These further developments thus widen the scope of application of the Schengen system, already a key search instrument in Switzerland's security landscape.

  • The Federal Council approved the adoption of this development on 19 December 2018, subject to parliamentary approval, and opened the consultation process on 13 February 2019.
  • The adoption of the regulations must next be approved by Parliament. The Federal Council dispatch to this effect is expected in spring 2020.

REGULATION (EU) No. 2018/1860

REGULATION (EU) No. 2018/1861

REGULATION (EU) No. 2018/1862

3. Interoperability of the Schengen databases (Regulations 2019/817 and 2019/818)

Regulations (EU) 2019/817 and (EU) 2019/818 establish the improved exchange of information (interoperability) between the various information systems in the areas of border, migration and police, so that in future the competent authorities will always have the information relevant to them. The systems of relevance to Switzerland are: SIS (Schengen Information System), VIS (Visa Information System), Eurodac (fingerprint database for asylum seekers), EES (Entry-Exit System) and ETIAS (European Travel Information and Authorisation System). The facilitated exchange of data is intended to help to improve security in the Schengen area, enable more efficient controls at the external borders and contribute to preventing and combating irregular migration.

  • The Federal Council approved the adoption of the further developments on 14 June 2019, subject to parliamentary approval, and opened the consultation process on 9 October 2019.
  • The adoption of the regulations must next be approved by Parliament. The Federal Council dispatch to this effect is expected in the first half of 2020.

4. Reform and strengthening of the mandate of the European Border and Coast Guard (Regulation 2019/1896)

The European Border and Coast Guard Agency (EBCG, Frontex) will be given an enhanced mandate and is to have a standing corps staff of up to 10,000 by 2027. Its mandate for external border control, return and cooperation with third countries will also be strengthened. During the negotiations on the revised regulation, Switzerland successfully argued for the size of the standing corps to be reviewed in 2023. The protection of the European external borders remains primarily the responsibility of the individual Schengen states.

  • On 13 December 2019, the Federal Council approved the adoption of the new EU Regulation on the European Border and Coast Guard, subject to parliamentary approval, and opened the consultation process.
  • The adoption of the regulation must next be approved by Parliament.

REGULATION (EU) No. 2019/1896

Weiterentwicklungen

Die Schweiz hat bei der Weiterentwicklung des Schengen-Besitzstands ein gestaltendes Mitspracherecht. Dieses ist bedeutend, da die Beschlussfassung meistens im Konsens erfolgt. Es ermöglicht der Schweiz, sich an der Gestaltung dieser Entwicklungen zu beteiligen und ihre Interessen direkt in den Expertendiskussionen oder im Rahmen von Treffen auf Botschafter- und Ministerstufe zu verteidigen.

Sind neue Schengen/Dublin-relevante Rechtsakte von der EU beschlossen worden, entscheidet die Schweiz jedes Mal aufs Neue und im Einklang mit ihren parlamentarischen und direktdemokratischen Prozessen, ob sie diese übernehmen will. Seit der Unterzeichnung der Abkommen am 26. Oktober 2004 hat die EU der Schweiz über 240 Weiterentwicklungen des Schengen-Besitzstands notifiziert. Ein grosser Teil der Weiterentwicklungen ist inhaltlich technischer Natur oder beschränkter Tragweite und kann daher direkt vom Bundesrat genehmigt bzw. zur Kenntnis genommen werden. Folglich gibt es lediglich rund 35 Rechtsentwicklungen, deren Übernahme das Parlament zu genehmigen hat bzw. hatte.

Falls die Schweiz eine solche Weiterentwicklung in ihrem Recht nicht umsetzt, treten beide Abkommen der Schweiz mit den Schengen- und Dublin-Staaten ausser Kraft – es sei denn, der Gemischte Ausschuss beschliesst innerhalb von 90 Tagen etwas Anderes. In diesem Ausschuss sind die Schweiz, die EU-Kommission und alle Mitgliedstaaten der EU vertreten. Der Entscheid, die Zusammenarbeit fortzusetzen, müsste einstimmig sein. Diese vertraglichen Bestimmungen kamen bisher noch nie zur Anwendung.

Folgende Weiterentwicklungen befinden sich derzeit im parlamentarischen Genehmigungsverfahren. Die laufenden und abgeschlossenen Vernehmlassungen sowie die jeweiligen Botschaften des Bundesrates im Bereich Schengen/Dublin sind online verfügbar.

1. Einführung eines Europäischen Reiseinformations- und -genehmigungssystems ETIAS (Verordnung Nr. 2018/1240)

Künftig müssen Reisende aus nicht EU/EFTA-Staaten, die kein Visum für den Schengen-Raum benötigen, vorab eine Reisegenehmigung beantragen. Der Antrag kann online eingereicht werden und kostet etwa sieben EUR. Die Angaben im Antrag werden automatisch mit verschiedenen Fahndungs- und Migrationsdatenbanken (u.a. Schengener Informationssysteme) abgeglichen. So wird ermittelt, ob Gründe für die Verweigerung des Antrags auf Einreise bestehen. In der Mehrheit der Fälle wird es keinen Treffer geben und damit die Genehmigung innert Minuten ausgestellt. Diese gilt für bis zu drei Jahre. ETIAS wird es ermöglichen, dass von der Visumspflicht befreite Drittstaatsangehörige, die in den Schengen-Raum einreisen, vorab überprüft werden und ihnen erforderlichenfalls eine Reisegenehmigung verweigert wird. Es wird dazu beitragen, die innere Sicherheit zu verbessern, illegale Einwanderung zu verhindern, die öffentliche Gesundheit zu schützen. Ein ähnliches System findet sich bereits heute bspw. in den USA mit der ESTA-Reisegenehmigung.

  • Der Bundesrat hat am 10. Oktober 2018 die Übernahme der Weiterentwicklung vorbehaltlich der Genehmigung durch das Parlament gutgeheissen und am 13. Februar 2019 das Vernehmlassungsverfahren eröffnet.
  • Das Parlament muss nun als nächstes die Übernahme der Verordnung genehmigen. Die entsprechende Botschaft des Bundesrates wird im Frühjahr 2020 erwartet.

VERORDNUNG Nr. 2018/1240

2. Modernisierung des Schengener Informationssystems SIS II (Verordnungen Nr. 2018/1860, 2018/1861 und 2018/1862)

Das SIS ist ein Informationssystem, in dem gestohlene Gegenstände und Personen ausgeschrieben werden, die polizeilich zwecks Auslieferung gesucht werden, mit einer Einreisesperre belegt sind oder vermisst werden. Die Schweiz hat 2017 über das SIS 17’000 Fahndungstreffer im In- und Ausland erzielt, die der Verhinderung irregulärer Migration, der Aufdeckung von Straftaten und der Auffindung von Vermissten dienten. Die drei Verordnungen (Paket SIS II) ermöglichen darüber hinaus eine lückenlosere Fahndung nach Personen, welche unter Terrorverdacht stehen, und die Verbesserung des Schutzes gefährdeter Minderjähriger und Erwachsener. Zudem sollen Rückkehrentscheide nun auch im SIS registriert werden können. Diese Schengen Weiterentwicklungen erweitern also den Anwendungsbereich eines Schengener-Systems, das ein zentrales Fahndungsinstrument der Sicherheitslandschaft der Schweiz darstellt.

  • Der Bundesrat hat am 19. Dezember 2018 die Übernahme der Weiterentwicklungen vorbehaltlich der Genehmigung durch das Parlament gutgeheissen und am 13. Februar 2019 das Vernehmlassungsverfahren eröffnet.
  • Das Parlament muss nun als nächstes die Übernahme der Verordnungen genehmigen. Die entsprechende Botschaft des Bundesrates wird im Frühling 2020 erwartet.

VERORDNUNG Nr. 2018/1860

VERORDNUNG Nr. 2018/1861

VERORDNUNG Nr. 2018/1862

3. Interoperabilität der Schengener Datenbanken (Verordnungen Nr. 2019/817 und 2019/818)

Die Verordnungen (EU) 2019/817 und (EU) 2019/818 regeln den verbesserten Informationsaustausch (Interoperabilität) zwischen den verschiedenen Informationssystemen in den Bereichen Grenze, Migration und Polizei, sodass die zuständigen Behörden in Zukunft stets über die für sie relevanten Informationen verfügen. Die für die Schweiz relevanten betroffenen Systeme sind: SIS (Schengen Information System), VIS (Visa Information System), Eurodac (Fingerabdruck Datenbank für Asylsuchende), EES (Entry-Exit-System) und ETIAS (European Travel Information and Authorisation System). Der erleichterte Datenaustausch soll zur Verbesserung der Sicherheit im Schengen-Raum beitragen, effizientere Kontrollen an den Aussengrenzen ermöglichen und einen Beitrag an die Verhinderung und Bekämpfung der irregulären Migration leisten.

  • Der Bundesrat hat am 14. Juni 2019 die Übernahme der Weiterentwicklungen vorbehaltlich der Genehmigung durch das Parlament gutgeheissen und am 9. Oktober 2019 die Vernehmlassung eröffnet.
  • Das Parlament muss nun als nächstes die Übernahme der Verordnungen genehmigen. Die entsprechende Botschaft des Bundesrates wird im ersten Halbjahr 2020 erwartet.

4.    Reform und Stärkung des Mandats der europäischen Grenz- und Küstenwache (Verordnung Nr. 2019/1896)

Die Europäische Grenz- und Küstenwache Agentur (EBCG, Frontex) bekommt ein neues Mandat und soll bis 2027 über eine ständige Reserve von bis zu 10'000 Experten zurückgreifen können. Ausserdem wird ihr Mandat im Bereich der Aussengrenzkontrolle, der Rückführung und der Zusammenarbeit mit Drittstaaten gestärkt. Im Rahmen der Verhandlungen zur revidierten Verordnung hatte sich die Schweiz mit Erfolg dafür eingesetzt, dass die Grösse der ständigen Reserve im Jahr 2023 einer Überprüfung unterzogen wird. Der Schutz der europäischen Aussengrenzen verbleibt weiterhin in erster Linie Verantwortung der einzelnen Schengen-Staaten.

  • Der Bundessrat hat am 13. Dezember 2019 die Übernahme der neuen EU-Verordnung über die neue europäische Grenz- und Küstenwache vorbehaltlich der Genehmigung durch das Parlament gutgeheissen und die Vernehmlassung eröffnet.
  • Das Parlament muss nun als nächstes die Übernahme der Verordnung genehmigen.

VERORDNUNG Nr. 2019/1896