Cooperation in the field of drugs and drug addiction

Since 12 September 2017 Switzerland has been working more closely with the European Monitoring Centre for Drugs and Drug Addiction (EMCDDA). The directors of the Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH) and of the EMCDDA have signed a working arrangement to this effect.

The EMCDDA compiles reliable and Europe-wide comparable information concerning drugs, drug addiction and their consequences. This data is then available to the EU and its member states as a basis for policymaking and initiatives on finding solutions to problems regarding drugs and drug abuse.

Switzerland participates on the basis of this working arrangement with the EMCDDA network. It thus benefits from direct access to this specialised European network, and Swiss researchers have facilitated access to European know-how and research projects. Such cross-border exchange is an important mechanism for better assessing emerging trends in the drugs situation. In particular, one area of mutual interest is Switzerland's participation in the EMCDDA's early warning system on new psychoactive substances. Increased exchange of information on drug use and on ways the penal system deals with offenders is also of interest.

This working arrangement is not legally binding, and Switzerland is therefore not formally a member of the EMCDDA. However, it gives Swiss experts the opportunity to participate in the EMCDDA's thematic working groups.

Chronology

  • 12.09.2017: Signing of a non-legally binding working arrangement on cooperation between authorities at the technical level.

Status October 2019

Additional information

Zusammenarbeit im Bereich Drogen und Drogensucht

Seit dem 12. September 2017 arbeitet die Schweiz enger mit der Europäischen Beobachtungsstelle für Drogen und Drogensucht (EBDD) zusammen. Die Direktoren des Bundesamtes für Gesundheit (BAG) und der EBDD haben hierzu eine entsprechende Vereinbarung unterzeichnet.

Die Europäische Beobachtungsstelle für Drogen und Drogensucht erarbeitet zuverlässige und europaweit vergleichbare Informationen über die Drogen- und Drogensuchtproblematik und ihre Folgen. Diese Informationen dienen der EU und den Mitgliedstaaten als Grundlage für politische Entscheidungen und Initiativen zur Bewältigung der Probleme im Drogenbereich.

Die Schweiz arbeitet auf der Grundlage der Vereinbarung („Working arrangement“) im Netzwerk der EBDD mit. Damit profitiert die Schweiz vom direkten Zugang zum europäischen Expertennetzwerk und Schweizer Forschende haben erleichterten Zugang zu europäischem Know-how und Forschungsprojekten. Dieser grenzüberschreitende Austausch ist ein wichtiges Instrument, um bevorstehende Entwicklungen im Drogenbereich besser einschätzen zu können. Insbesondere das Mitwirken der Schweiz am Frühwarnsystem der EBDD zu neuen psychoaktiven Substanzen ist ein gemeinsames Anliegen. Von Interesse ist zudem ein verstärkter Austausch im Bereich Strafvollzug und Drogenkonsum.

Die Vereinbarung ist nicht rechtsverbindlich und die Schweiz ist damit nicht formell Mitglied der EBDD. Sie ermöglicht aber Schweizer Experten, sich an thematischen Arbeitsgruppen der EBDD zu beteiligen.

Chronologie

  • 12.9.2017: Unterzeichnung einer nicht rechtsverbindlichen Vereinbarung zur Kooperation der Behörden auf technischer Ebene.

Stand September 2018

Weiterführende Informationen