Eurodac – access for law enforcement authorities

 Illuminated fingerprint on a dark-coloured glass plate.
Fingerprinting, or dactyloscopy (the technique of examining fingerprints in order to identify individuals). © George Prentzas

The Eurodac database contains the fingerprints of persons applying for asylum in a Dublin state or caught entering the country illegally. The Swiss law enforcement authorities do not yet have access to this data. In order to improve Switzerland's internal security, the Federal Council intends to give the law enforcement authorities access to the Eurodac database, subject to certain conditions.

Switzerland and the EU concluded negotiations on Eurodac access for the Swiss law enforcement authorities at the end of 2017. The relevant protocol was signed on 27 June 2019. For it to come into force with legally binding effect, both parties now need to ratify the instrument. The Federal Council is expected to submit a bill to Parliament in November 2020. Once the protocol has been approved by Parliament, the Federal Council is expected to ratify it towards the middle of 2022.

Access for law enforcement authorities investigating serious offences

The Eurodac database, established in 2003, contains the fingerprints of persons claiming asylum in a Dublin State or caught entering the country illegally. The system allows Dublin states to check whether asylum seekers have submitted an asylum application in another Dublin state or if they have entered via a safe third country. Access was previously restricted to parties requiring data on asylum seekers. The information was not made available to national law enforcement authorities. This situation changed in 2015, when the EU Eurodac Regulation, as amended, came into force. The Regulation specifically gives law enforcement authorities the right to access Eurodac, subject to strict conditions. For example, the law enforcement authorities may only access Eurodac if the following databases have previously returned a negative result:

  • National fingerprint and DNA databases
  • Databases under the Prüm police cooperation scheme
  • Visa Information System (VIS) for Schengen States

In addition, accessing Eurodac is only permitted for the purposes of investigating suspected terrorism or other serious criminal offences, but not lesser crimes (misdemeanours). Fingerprints may also only be compared for specific cases. Systematic comparisons may not be carried out.

The new provisions of the Eurodac Regulation granting access to the law enforcement authorities do not constitute a further development of the Dublin acquis. As a result, they do not automatically apply to Switzerland. In order to participate, Switzerland was therefore required to sign the protocol on 27 June 2019.

Effectively tackling cross-border crime

Database access is essential in enabling the Swiss law enforcement authorities to fight organised crime and terrorism. Access to European databases is particularly important in order to combat cross-border crime effectively, as evidenced by the Visa Information System (VIS), which the law enforcement authorities have been able to access since 2008.  This is why the Federal Council wanted to agree a protocol with the EU that allows the Swiss law enforcement authorities to access Eurodac data. In return, the law enforcement authorities in European partner countries will also be able to access Swiss data stored on Eurodac.

Countries seeking Eurodac access must participate in the Prümer police cooperation scheme, which requires EU member states, Norway and Iceland to maintain various police DNA and fingerprint databases. The agreement on Switzerland's participation in the Prüm police cooperation scheme was also signed on 27 June 2019. As with the Eurodac protocol, both parties must ratify the agreement before it can come into force. Further information is available in the 'Prüm' factsheet.

Chronology

  • Mid-2022 protocol expected to be ratified
  • 27.06.2019 protocol signed by Switzerland and the EU
  • 21.09.2016    Start of negotiations

Eurodac – Zugang für Strafverfolgungsbehörden

Fingerabdruck
Das Fingerabdruckverfahren, die Daktyloskopie (griechisch Fingerbetrachtung) erlaubt die Identifikation von Personen. © José Luís Agapito

In der Eurodac-Datenbank werden die Fingerabdrücke von Personen gespeichert, die in einem Dublin-Staat ein Asylgesuch einreichen oder bei der illegalen Einreise aufgegriffen werden. Diese Daten stehen den Schweizer Strafverfolgungsbehörden noch nicht zur Verfügung. Zur Verbesserung der inneren Sicherheit der Schweiz will der Bundesrat den Strafverfolgungsbehörden unter bestimmten Bedingungen den Zugriff auf die Eurodac-Datenbank ermöglichen.  

Ende 2017 haben die Schweiz und die EU die Verhandlungen über den Zugriff der Schweizer Strafverfolgungsbehörden auf die Eurodac-Datenbank abgeschlossen. Am 27. Juni 2019 wurde das entsprechende Protokoll unterzeichnet. Damit es in Kraft treten kann und verbindlich wird, muss es noch von beiden Seiten ratifiziert werden. 2021 unterbreitet der Bundesrat dazu dem Parlament eine Botschaft zur Genehmigung des Protokolls. Heisst das Parlament das Protokoll gut, kann der Bundesrat es ratifizieren. Die Ratifikation sollte etwa Mitte 2022 erfolgen.

Zugriff für Strafverfolgungsbehörden bei schweren Straftaten

Seit 2003 werden die Fingerabdrücke von Personen, welche in einem Dublin-Staat ein Asylgesuch stellen oder bei der illegalen Einreise aufgegriffen werden, in der Eurodac-Datenbank gespeichert. Auf diese Weise können die Dublin-Staaten überprüfen, ob eine Person bereits in einem anderen Staat ein Asylgesuch gestellt hat oder über ein sicheres Drittland eingereist ist. Der Zugriff auf diese Daten war bisher auf den Asylbereich beschränkt, Strafverfolgungsbehörden waren davon ausgeschlossen. Dies änderte sich 2015, nachdem die revidierte Eurodac-Verordnung der EU in Kraft getreten war. Die Verordnung sieht explizit einen Zugriff durch die Strafverfolgungsbehörden vor, der jedoch an strenge Bedingungen geknüpft ist. So ist ein Zugriff nur möglich, wenn vorgängig folgende Datenbanken mit negativem Resultat abgefragt wurden:

  • Nationale Fingerabdruck- und DNA-Datenbanken
  • Die Datenbanken der Prümer Polizeikooperation
  • Die Datenbank des Schengener Visa-Informationssystems (VIS)

Ausserdem ist eine Konsultation von Eurodac nur zur Aufdeckung von schweren Straftaten sowie bei Terrorismusverdacht zulässig, nicht aber bei kleineren Vergehen. Ein solcher Abgleich darf ferner nur im Einzelfall vorgenommen werden; systematische Abfragen sind nicht erlaubt.

Die neuen Bestimmungen der Eurodac-Verordnung über den Zugang der Strafverfolgungsbehörde stellen keine Weiterentwicklung des Dublin-Besitzstandes dar und gelten daher nicht automatisch für die Schweiz, weshalb für eine Teilnahme das am 27. Juni 2019 unterschriebene Protokoll nötig wurde.

Grenzüberschreitende Kriminalität wirkungsvoll bekämpfen

Für die Schweizer Strafverfolgungsbehörden ist der Zugang zu Datenbanken ein wichtiges Mittel im Kampf gegen das organisierte Verbrechen und den Terrorismus. Gerade um grenzüberschreitende Kriminalität wirkungsvoll bekämpfen zu können, ist der Zugang zu gesamteuropäischen Datenbanken von grosser Bedeutung. Dies hat bereits der Zugriff der Strafverfolgungsbehörden auf das Visa Informationssystem VIS gezeigt, der seit 2008 möglich ist. Aus diesem Grund hat der Bundesrat den Abschluss eines Protokolls mit der EU angestrebt, welches den Schweizer Strafverfolgungsbehörden Zugriff auf die Eurodac-Daten ermöglicht. Im Gegenzug haben auch die Strafverfolgungsbehörden der europäischen Partnerländer Zugriff auf die von der Schweiz eingespeisten Eurodac-Daten.

Voraussetzung für den Zugriff auf die Eurodac-Datenbank ist die Teilnahme der Schweiz an der Prümer Polizeikooperation. In deren Rahmen unterhalten die EU-Staaten sowie Norwegen und Island verschiedene polizeiliche DNA- und Fingerabdruckdatenbanken. Das Abkommen über die Schweizer Teilnahme an der Prümer Polizeikooperation wurde ebenfalls am 27. Juni 2019 unterzeichnet. Wie das Eurodac-Protokoll muss es von beiden Parteien ratifiziert werden, bevor es in Kraft tritt. Weitere Informationen dazu finden Sie im Informationsblatt «Prüm».

Chronologie

  • Mitte 2022   Voraussichtliche Ratifikation des Protokolls
  • 27.06.2019  Unterzeichnung des Protokolls durch die Schweiz und die EU
  • 21.09.2016     Beginn der Verhandlungen