Head of the DEA

Ambassador Henri Gétaz ©DEA

Ambassador Henri Gétaz heads the Directorate for European Affairs DEA within the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs FDFA. In this capacity, he is responsible for coordinating ongoing negotiations between Switzerland and the European Union (EU). This includes leading negotiations on an agreement on institutional questions.

For Mr. Gétaz, who studied Economics at the Universities of St. Gallen and Lausanne and wrote his Ph.D. on “intra industrial trade from a Swiss perspective”, leading the DEA also means returning to his roots: between 2001 to 2006, he worked for the FDFA/FDEA Integration Office (IO) serving as deputy to Michael Ambühl, the former IO Head. On 1 January 2013, the FDFA/FDEA Integration Office has been incorporated entirely into the FDFA as directorate.

  • Mr. Gétaz joined the Federal Department of Economic Affairs FDEA in 1990. During his time at the Federal Office of Foreign Economic Affairs, which later merged with the Federal Office for Economic Development and Labour to become the State Secretariat for Economic Affairs SECO, he represented Switzerland in various bodies of the Organisation for Economic Development and Cooperation (OECD) and in free trade negotiations in the context of the European Free Trade Association (EFTA).
  • In 1994, he was appointed Secretary of the Federal Office of Foreign Economic Affairs and as Chief of Staff to Franz Blankart, the director of that Office. From 1996 to 2001, Mr. Gétaz led SECO negotiations with GATS/WTO on international services.
  • As deputy head of the former FDFA/FDEA Integration Office, between 2001 and 2006 he was a significant guiding and supporting force in the negotiations on the Bilateral Agreements II.
  • From 2006 to 2010, Mr. Gétaz was head of the Economic and Financial Division of the Embassy of Switzerland in Washington D.C. In this function, among other duties, he played a central role in the negotiations to settle the tax dispute between UBS and the US authorities.
  • He took over as head of what is now the FDFA's Directorate for European Affairs DEA in 2010.

Additional information

Der Direktor der DEA

Botschafter Henri Gétaz ©DEA

Botschafter Henri Gétaz führt die Direktion für europäische Angelegenheiten DEA im Eidgenössischen Departement für auswärtige Angelegenheiten EDA. In dieser Funktion zeichnet er sich für die Koordination der laufenden Verhandlungen zwischen der Schweiz und der Europäischen Union (EU) verantwortlich. Er leitet unter anderem die Verhandlungen über ein Abkommen zu den institutionellen Fragen.

Für den ausgebildeten Ökonomen, der sein Volkswirtschaftsstudium in St. Gallen und Lausanne absolviert und 1994 mit einer Dissertation über «Intra-industriellen Handel aus Schweizer Perspektive» promoviert hat, stellt die Leitung der DEA auch eine Rückkehr dar. Bereits von 2001 bis 2006 arbeitete Henri Gétaz im Integrationsbüro (IB) EDA/EVD und war in dieser Zeit Stellvertreter des damaligen IB-Chefs Michael Ambühl. Das Integrationsbüro EDA/EVD ist per 1. Januar 2013 vollständig als Direktion ins EDA eingegliedert worden.

  • Henri Gétaz trat 1990 in den Dienst des Eidgenössischen Volkswirtschaftsdepartements EVD. Im damaligen Bundesamt für Aussenwirtschaft BAWI, das später mit dem Bundesamt für Industrie, Gewerbe und Arbeit BIGA zusammen das Staatssekretariat für Wirtschaft SECO bildete, vertrat er die Schweiz unter anderem in einzelnen Organen der Organisation für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (OECD) sowie in Freihandelsverhandlungen im Rahmen der europäischen Freihandelsassoziation (EFTA).
  • 1994 wurde er zum Sekretär der BAWI-Direktion und zum persönlichen Mitarbeiter von Staatssekretär Franz Blankart ernannt. In den Jahren 1996 bis 2001 war er im SECO verantwortlich für internationale Dienstleistungsverhandlungen, unter anderem im Rahmen der GATS/WTO.
  • 2001 bis 2006 hat er als stellvertretender Leiter des damaligen Integrationsbüros EDA/EVD die Verhandlungen über die Verträge der Bilateralen II massgeblich geprägt und begleitet.
  • 2006 bis 2010 war Henri Gétaz Leiter der Wirtschafts- und Finanzabteilung der schweizerischen Botschaft in Washington D.C. In dieser Funktion nahm er nebst anderen Tätigkeiten eine zentrale Rolle in den Verhandlungen um die Regelung des Steuerkonflikts zwischen der UBS und den US-Behörden ein.
  • 2010 übernahm er die Leitung der heutigen Direktion für europäische Angelegenheiten DEA des EDA.

Weiterführende Informationen