Bilateral Relations Division

The Bilateral Relations Division defines the foreign policy guidelines for Switzerland’s relations with its neighbours and all other Western and Central European states – including the EU member states, the partner states of the European Free Trade Association (EFTA), Andorra, the Holy See, Monaco, San Marino – and implements these in close cooperation with the Swiss embassies in these countries. In implementing Switzerland’s policy on relations with its neighbours, the division also takes into account various aspects of cross-border relations and supports, among other things, the cantons in the area of cross-border cooperation. In addition, the division also houses the Swiss ambassador to the Principality of Liechtenstein, who is based in Bern, from where Switzerland’s diplomatic relations with the Principality are conducted.

Western, Central and Southern Europe Section

  • Andorra, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Sweden, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, United Kingdom

Neighbouring States and Cross-border Cooperation Section

  • Austria, France, Germany, Holy See, Italy, Liechtenstein, Malta, Monaco, San Marino, cross-border cooperation