Relations between Switzerland and the rest of Europe have been developing steadily. The highlights of this development process are listed here in chronological order.






The Agreement on Mutual Recognition in relation to Conformity Assessment (MRA) between Switzerland and the EU is updated, thereby maintaining market access in sectors in which the Swiss and EU technical standards have been revised.



Estonia assumes the Presidency of the Council of the EU for a six-month term.


The Federal Act on Cooperation with the States of Eastern Europe (Eastern Europe Cooperation Act) came into force. The act was passed by Parliament on 30 September 2016.



The Federal Council activates the safeguard clause for Bulgaria and Romania. Starting from 1 June 2017 and for one year, the access to the Swiss labour market for Bulgarian and Romanian citizens applying for a new B-type residence permit will be restricted.



The Federal Council waives a counterproposal to the initiative ‘Get us out of the dead end! Don’t reintroduce immigration quotas’ (Rasa initiative).



President Doris Leuthard and the President of the European Commission Jean-Claude Juncker have agreed in Brussels to resume negotiations on all pending dossiers.


Pascale Baeriswyl has taken over the coordination of Switzerland’s negotiations with the EU from Jacques de Watteville.




The United Kingdom formally notified the EU of its intent to leave, triggering art. 50 TEU. The two-year time frame during which the UK and the EU must complete the withdrawal negotiations has begun.


59.1% of the Swiss voters have rejected the «Corporate Tax Reform Act III».



Entry into force of Protocol III of the AFMP on extending the free movement of persons to Croatia and of the AEOI Agreement between Switzerland and the EU



Malta assumes the Presidency of the Council of the EU for a six-month term

Chronology Relations Switzerland-EU 2017