Chemical safety / REACH

Glass displaying chemical warning signs
Working with chemicals would be governed through REACH. © Fotolia

The regulation on the Registration, Evaluation, Authorisation and Restriction of Chemicals (REACH) has been in force in the EU since 1 June 2007. In September 2015, the Federal Council decided to review ways of cooperating with the European Chemicals Agency (ECHA). Opening negotiations on a bilateral market access agreement regarding chemicals is not, however, to be actively pursued. In December 2017 an exchange of letters were signed, which should facilitate cooperation and knowledge exchange between the authorities.

Under REACH, the chemical industry is required to assess the impact of chemical substances on the environment and human health and to comply with more stringent protection requirements. Because this EU regulation also has a direct impact on the chemical industry in countries outside the EU, the Swiss chemical industry is also required to comply with REACH requirements concerning chemicals exported to the EU.

Against this backdrop, in 2010 the Federal Council adopted a draft negotiating mandate for a bilateral agreement on chemical safety (the REACH agreement) and submitted it to the cantons and to Parliament's foreign affairs committees for consultation.

Following on from these consultations, in September 2015 the Federal Council decided that entering into negotiations on a bilateral market access agreement regarding chemicals should not be pursued.

In December 2017 an exchange of letters between the head of the FOPH Notification Unit for Chemical Substances and the head of the ECHA were signed to facilitate cooperation between the authorities but are not legally binding.

Chronology

  • 22.12.2017: Signing of a non-legally binding exchange of letters to formalise technical cooperation between the authorities
  • 11.09.2015: Decision by the Federal Council not to actively pursue the opening of negotiations with the EU
  • 18.08.2010: Federal Council adopts a draft negotiation mandate for a bilateral agreement on chemical safety

Status October 2019

Additional information

Sécurité des produits chimiques / REACH

Flacon portant une étiquette de mise en garde contre les produits chimiques
REACH réglemente l’utilisation des substances chimiques. © Fotolia

Le 1er juin 2007 est entré en vigueur dans l’UE le règlement REACH concernant l’enregistrement, l’évaluation et l’autorisation des substances chimiques, ainsi que les restrictions applicables à ces substances (Registration, Evaluation, Authorisation and Restriction of Chemicals, REACH). Le Conseil fédéral a décidé, en septembre 2015, d’examiner les possibilités de coopération avec l’Agence européenne des produits chimiques (ECHA), sans toutefois œuvrer activement à l’ouverture de négociations en vue de la conclusion d’un accord bilatéral sur l’accès au marché dans le domaine des produits chimiques. En décembre 2017, un échange de lettres a été signé dans le but de faciliter la coopération et l’échange de connaissances entre les autorités concernées.

Le règlement REACH oblige les fabricants à analyser l’impact de leurs produits chimiques sur l’environnement et la santé et impose des normes de sécurité très strictes. Il a également des répercussions directes sur l’industrie chimique des pays qui ne sont pas membres de l’UE: les produits chimiques exportés par les entreprises suisses dans l’UE doivent satisfaire eux aussi aux normes REACH.

En 2010, le Conseil fédéral a adopté le projet de mandat de négociation en vue de la conclusion d’un accord bilatéral dans le domaine de la sécurité des produits chimiques (accord REACH) et l’a envoyé en consultation auprès des cantons et des commissions de politique extérieure du Parlement.

Après consultation des cercles intéressés, le Conseil fédéral a décidé, en septembre 2015, de ne plus œuvrer à l’ouverture de négociations avec l’UE en vue de la conclusion d’un accord bilatéral sur l’accès au marché dans le domaine des produits chimiques.

En décembre 2017, le chef de l’organe de réception des notifications des produits chimiques de l’OFSP et le directeur de l’ECHA ont signé un échange de lettres, qui favorise certes la coopération des autorités, mais n’a aucun effet contraignant sur le plan juridique.

Chronologie

  • 22.12.2017: signature d’un échange de lettres non contraignant sur le plan juridique en vue de faciliter la coopération des autorités sur le plan technique.
  • 11.9.2015: le Conseil fédéral a décidé de ne plus œuvrer activement à l’ouverture de négociations avec l’UE.
  • 18.8.2010: le Conseil fédéral adopte le projet de mandat de négociation en vue de la conclusion d’un accord bilatéral dans le domaine de la sécurité des produits chimiques.

Etat du dossier: Septembre 2018

Informations supplémentaires