Head of the DEA

Ambassador Henri Gétaz ©DEA

Ambassador Henri Gétaz heads the Directorate for European Affairs DEA within the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs FDFA. In this capacity, he is responsible for coordinating ongoing negotiations between Switzerland and the European Union (EU). This includes leading negotiations on an agreement on institutional questions.

For Mr. Gétaz, who studied Economics at the Universities of St. Gallen and Lausanne and wrote his Ph.D. on “intra industrial trade from a Swiss perspective”, leading the DEA also means returning to his roots: between 2001 to 2006, he worked for the FDFA/FDEA Integration Office (IO) serving as deputy to Michael Ambühl, the former IO Head. On 1 January 2013, the FDFA/FDEA Integration Office has been incorporated entirely into the FDFA as directorate.

  • Mr. Gétaz joined the Federal Department of Economic Affairs FDEA in 1990. During his time at the Federal Office of Foreign Economic Affairs, which later merged with the Federal Office for Economic Development and Labour to become the State Secretariat for Economic Affairs SECO, he represented Switzerland in various bodies of the Organisation for Economic Development and Cooperation (OECD) and in free trade negotiations in the context of the European Free Trade Association (EFTA).
  • In 1994, he was appointed Secretary of the Federal Office of Foreign Economic Affairs and as Chief of Staff to Franz Blankart, the director of that Office. From 1996 to 2001, Mr. Gétaz led SECO negotiations with GATS/WTO on international services.
  • As deputy head of the former FDFA/FDEA Integration Office, between 2001 and 2006 he was a significant guiding and supporting force in the negotiations on the Bilateral Agreements II.
  • From 2006 to 2010, Mr. Gétaz was head of the Economic and Financial Division of the Embassy of Switzerland in Washington D.C. In this function, among other duties, he played a central role in the negotiations to settle the tax dispute between UBS and the US authorities.
  • He took over as head of what is now the FDFA's Directorate for European Affairs DEA in 2010.

Additional information

Le directeur de la DAE

Henri Gétaz, ambassadeur
Henri Gétaz, ambassadeur ©DAE

L’ambassadeur Henri Gétaz est à la tête de la Direction des affaires européennes (DAE) du Département fédéral des affaires étrangères DFAE. Au titre de ses fonctions, il est responsable de la coordination des négociations en cours entre la Suisse et l’Union européenne (UE). Il dirige aujourd’hui entre autres les pourparlers en vue d’un accord sur les questions institutionnelles.

Economiste de formation, Henri Gétaz a fait ses études à Saint-Gall et à Lausanne et a obtenu son doctorat en 1994, pour sa thèse intitulée «Intra-industriellen Handel aus Schweizer Perspektive». Sa nomination à la tête de la DAE a représenté un retour aux sources. De 2001 à 2006, Henri Gétaz a en effet travaillé au Bureau de l'intégration DFAE/DFE, en tant que chef adjoint de Michael Ambühl. Le Bureau de l’intégration DFAE/DFE a été intégré, le 1er janvier 2013, au DFAE sous la forme d’une direction.

  • Henri Gétaz entre au service du Département fédéral de l'économie publique DFE en 1990. En tant que collaborateur de l'Office fédéral des affaires économiques extérieures OFAEE – office fusionné par la suite avec l'Office fédéral de l'industrie, des arts et métiers et du travail OFIAMT et devenu Secrétariat d'Etat à l'économie SECO – Henri Gétaz représente la Suisse au sein de divers organes de l'Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE), ainsi que lors de négociations dans le cadre de l'Association européenne de libre-échange (AELE).
  • En 1994, il est nommé secrétaire de la direction de l'OFAEE et collaborateur personnel du secrétaire d'Etat, Franz Blankart. De 1996 à 2001, il devient, au sein du tout nouveau SECO, responsable des négociations internationales sur les services, notamment dans le cadre du GATS/OMC.
  • De 2001 à 2006, il suit de près les négociations sur les Accords bilatéraux II, en tant que chef adjoint de l’ancien Bureau de l’intégration, et les marque de son empreinte.
  • De 2006 à 2010, Henri Gétaz dirige la Section des affaires économiques et financières à l’Ambassade de Suisse à Washington D.C. Il joue alors un rôle central dans les négociations sur le règlement du conflit fiscal entre UBS et les autorités américaines.
  • En 2010, il prend les rênes de l’actuelle Direction des affaires européennes DAE du DFAE.

Informations supplémentaires