Peace and governance

Through its international cooperation, Switzerland promotes peace and good governance in developing countries. To this end, Switzerland is using the expertise it has developed over the years to strengthen human rights in priority regions, to participate in conflict resolution and prevention, to strengthen public institutions and to increase the participation of civil society and citizens, in order to ensure that public services meet the real needs of the population.

Because of its history and neutrality, Switzerland has a strong legitimacy to support the political processes for conflict prevention and resolution. Switzerland has special expertise in the areas of international humanitarian law and human rights. Its International Cooperation Strategy 2021–24 places a special focus on peace, gender equality and good governance.

Strengthening human rights and gender equality

Switzerland's international cooperation is committed to the protection and strengthening of human rights and to the fight against impunity. It supports and participates in commissions of investigation and fact-finding missions and has a rights-based approach to international cooperation. In all its activities, Switzerland's international cooperation promotes gender equality and women's rights.

Peaceful resolution and prevention of conflicts

Regarding its international cooperation activities in peace processes, Switzerland promotes a dialogue that involves all the actors concerned, including all the parties to a conflict, as far as this is possible. It works towards sustainable peace and places particular emphasis on including women in these processes. Switzerland has specific expertise in political processes such as mediation, federalism, ceasefire negotiations, dealing with the past and fighting impunity. It is committed to the prevention of crises and conflicts. Its international cooperation activities therefore include support for free and peaceful elections, restoration of the rule of law, equal participation of women and men, inclusion of minorities and marginalised groups in political processes and the prevention of violent extremism and atrocities.

Good governance

Switzerland fosters good governance in developing countries. This includes democratic values such as civic engagement, transparency and accountability, and the fight against corruption and impunity. Switzerland is committed to systemic changes that lead to partner governments assuming greater responsibility. On the one hand, Switzerland's international cooperation strengthens state institutions so that they can meet the needs of the population and deal with problems that hinder development, namely corruption, clientelism and mismanagement. To this end, it supports the mutual control of powers and public mechanisms for accountability and government oversight. At the same time, it also promotes the participation of the population in decision-making processes and strengthens civil society, which has an important role to play in advocacy, social inclusion and public responsibility.

Documents

Brochure: Switzerland's International Cooperation Strategy 2021–24 (PDF, 1.3 MB)

FDFA Human Rights Strategy 2016–19 (PDF, Number of pages 36, 285.8 kB, English)

FDFA Strategy on Gender Equality and Women's Rights (PDF, 357.9 kB, English)

Dispatch on Switzerland's International Cooperation Strategy 2021–24 (PDF, 2.2 MB, German)

Leaflet: International Cooperation Strategy 2021–24 (PDF, 3.5 MB, English)

Report on the results of the consultation on Switzerland's international cooperation 2021–24 (PDF, 1.0 MB, German)

Frieden und Gouvernanz

Die Schweiz fördert mit ihrer internationalen Zusammenarbeit (IZA) den Frieden und eine gute Regierungsführung (Gouvernanz) in Entwicklungsländern. Dazu kann die Schweiz auf das Knowhow aus ihrer eigenen Geschichte zählen. So stärkt die IZA in ihren Schwerpunktregionen die Menschenrechte, beteiligt sich an der Beilegung und Prävention von Konflikten und stärkt öffentliche Institutionen sowie die Zivilgesellschaft und die Beteiligung der Bürgerinnen und Bürger, damit die Dienstleistungen den Bedürfnissen der Bevölkerung entsprechen.

Aufgrund ihrer Geschichte und ihrer Neutralität verfügt die Schweiz über eine starke Legitimation, politische Prozesse zur Konfliktprävention oder Konfliktlösung zu unterstützen. Besonderes Knowhow hat die Schweiz im Bereich des humanitären Völkerrechts und der Menschenrechte. Die Strategie der internationalen Zusammenarbeit der Schweiz 2021-2024 setzt im Bereich des Friedens, der Gleichstellung der Geschlechter und der guten Regierungsführung einen Schwerpunkt. 

Stärkung der Menschenrechte und Geschlechtergleichstellung

Die internationale Zusammenarbeit der Schweiz (IZA) setzt sich für den Schutz und die Stärkung der Menschenrechte sowie gegen die Straffreiheit ein. Sie unterstützt Untersuchungskommissionen und Ermittlungsmissionen sowie einen rechtsbasierten Ansatz in der IZA. Die IZA setzt sich in allen Aktivitäten für die Gleichstellung der Geschlechter und die Rechte der Frauen ein. 

Friedliche Beilegung und Prävention von Konflikten

Die Schweiz fördert mit ihrer IZA in Friedensprozessen einen Dialog, der möglichst alle betroffenen Akteure einschliesslich aller Konfliktparteien einbezieht. Sie arbeitet auf einen nachhaltigen Frieden hin und legt besonderes Gewicht auf die Einbindung der Frauen in diese Prozesse. Sie verfügt über spezifisches Fachwissen in politischen Prozessen wie Mediation, Föderalismus, Waffenstillstandsverhandlungen, Vergangenheitsarbeit oder Bekämpfung von Straffreiheit. Die Schweiz engagiert sich in der Prävention von Krisen und Konflikten. Die IZA unterstützt deshalb freie und friedliche Wahlen, die Wiederherstellung der Rechtsstaatlichkeit, die gleichberechtigte Beteiligung von Frauen und Männern, die Inklusion von Minderheiten und Randgruppen in politische Prozesse sowie die Prävention von gewalttätigem Extremismus und von Gräueltaten.

Gouvernanz

Die Schweiz fördert eine gute Regierungsführung in Entwicklungsländern. Dazu gehören demokratische Werte wie Bürgerbeteiligung, Transparenz und Rechenschaftspflicht sowie die Bekämpfung von Korruption und Straflosigkeit. Die Schweiz setzt sich für systemische Veränderungen ein, die dazu führen sollen, dass die Partnerregierungen mehr Verantwortung übernehmen. Die IZA stärkt zum einen staatliche Institutionen, damit sie den Bedürfnissen der Bevölkerung entsprechen und sich mit Problemen befassen können, welche die Entwicklung behindern, namentlich Korruption, Klientelismus und Misswirtschaft. Zum anderen unterstützt sie die gegenseitige Kontrolle der Gewalten sowie die öffentlichen Mechanismen zur Rechenschaftspflicht und zur Beaufsichtigung der Regierung. Gleichzeitig wird auch die Beteiligung der Bevölkerung an Entscheidprozessen gefördert und die Zivilgesellschaft gestärkt, da sie eine wichtige Rolle in der Anwaltschaft, der sozialen Inklusion und der öffentlichen Verantwortung spielt. 

Dokumente

Broschüre «Strategie der internationalen Zusammenarbeit 2021-2024» (PDF, 2.6 MB, Deutsch)

Menschenrechtsstrategie des EDA 2016-2019 (PDF, Anzahl Seiten 36, 319.7 kB, Deutsch)

EDA Strategie zur Gleichstellung und Frauenrechte (PDF, 394.5 kB, Deutsch)

Botschaft zur Strategie der internationalen Zusammenarbeit 2021-2024 (PDF, 2.2 MB, Deutsch)

Flyer: Strategie der internationalen Zusammenarbeit 2021-2024 (PDF, 3.5 MB, Deutsch)

Ergebnisbericht zur Vernehmlassung der internationalen Zusammenarbeit der Schweiz 2021–2024 (PDF, 1.0 MB, Deutsch)